Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. kingsolomon12

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    First off, as a whole, very impressed with this thing right out of the box and have a few questions:
    Does the transmitter not actually charge the iphone as whenever I plug it in, it appears to be charging for all of 1 second then stops ? Secondly I just hit the record button in whatever its default mode was and took a quick look at the video on my computer. It appears very choppy, not at all smooth. Quality is amazing but no smooth video. I'm using the 16gb card that came with the Phantom, should I be shooting in a different resolution, looking at a better quality memory card or is this a processing issue with my computer ?

    Appreciate any responses in advance and I'll be going to get a few more batteries tomorrow - lol

    Mark. :)
     
  2. Don Holmes

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
     
  3. kingsolomon12

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also is there a trick to the battery coming out or is it just particularly tight ?
     
  4. Don Holmes

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
    Make sure to move the file off the card onto your computer before viewing. If it is still choppy, it is a processor issue. Also, you might try casting it from your device to a larger screen.
     
  5. kingsolomon12

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response, I just changed the setting as it was on 4k, i took it down to 1080p at 60fps as thats what i remember using on my go pro on my first phantom and that did take care of the issue for me. Do you know if the remote is meant to charge the phone while its connected ?
     
  6. Don Holmes

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
    It's tight.
     
    cfd701 likes this.
  7. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    48
    You must use the charger for the brand of phone. The remote does not charge anything!
     
  8. kingsolomon12

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the responses so far...
    Another quick question, when watching my video playback there is no sound. Does the camera not record sound ?
     
  9. DroneDriver1269

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Louisiana
    No, it does not record sound.
     
  10. WWK888

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    194
    You really wouldn't want to record the sound in my opinion.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. vaughn1976

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just get a iPad air2 and do everything off of it it's 4K also and video will be clean and sharp..I've had my p4 for about a month now and it's on point with video and playback on the iPad air2!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  12. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    264
    Is that the 4K video taken off the card or the 720p version that's automatically saved to the IPad?
     
  13. vaughn1976

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    It saves to the dji go app than if you want you can save it to the pad to your pics or videos but it's all 4K super clean and sharp more than 1080p


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  14. vaughn1976

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    Also with the dji go app on the iPad you can upload all firmware and there app has a forum for pics and videos it's the only way to go without a doubt


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  15. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    264
    I'm considering upgrading to a P4 but everything I read says the DJI Go app only saves a 720 p version and that the 4 K version is only saved to the sd card. The manual says the live streaming is 720p and that's what's saved in the app. Seems like transmitting and saving a 4K version would be a helluva lot of data. I'm confused.
     
  16. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    61
    I can see why you are confused. These are good questions actually, let me explain to you how it works;

    - Video editing must be based on the sdcard because you will find in there the videos at the quality you have choosen.

    - With Go App you can download to your iPad videos and pictures from the sdcard, at the same quality (copy). There is a specific menu interface for that and P4 must be connected.

    - In Go App options there is a setting where you can enable real-time recording in the iPad of the 720p video stream received in your iPad. This is mainly for back-up/log purpose if you loose the sdcard.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #16 RémyHeli, Jul 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2016
  17. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    264
    Got it. Thanks. Vaughn1976 confused me because he said "it saves to the dji go app and it's ALL 4k" which didn't make sense to me. On my P3S, the video saves in the app as 720p which I never use. I always use the 2.7K from the card.
     
  18. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    61
    Note in Go App you can disable the video log recording if you never use, you will reduce a little CPU usage, which is welcome.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    264
    Ha. Just did that last night. Thanks.
     
  20. kingsolomon12

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank u guys so much for all the info and responses... 5 flights and I'm hooked, already picked up 2 more batteries and the 3 port charger - lol - I am just using my iPhone but do plan on getting an iPad to use with the phantom 4. That being said, can I get the pics on the phone directly through the app or do I need to plug in ?