Just bought a Phantom 3 - Worried after reading about problems!

Reaction score
Hi all,
I would like to get some input, reassurance or warning from Phantom 3 owners/experts - I'm a bit worried...

I've just sold my Phantom 2, having made the decision to walk away from the aftermarket FPV setup on the 2 in favour of the Phantom 3's "Off the Shelf" set up, which on paper, appears to be all kinds of awesome and way ahead of what I was able to do with my P2/FPV...

Seemed like a logical decision given the price tag of a new P3 was just a few hundred dollars more than what I was able to sell my P2 setup for, particularly after taking into consideration the further costs I would have spent on upgrading a few of the low end bits and pieces that were holding me back from getting the best out of the P2 FPV.

Anyway, I digress - I'm about to take my Phantom 3 out for the first time - I'm a confident Phantom pilot, having had a P1 and P2 and the location that I will be flying will be at high altitude (1700m+) and in snow covered terrain... A ski resort to put it simply. My intention is to take it up to various locations on the mountain (staying within the confines of the patrolled ski area), and do a little bit of flying around/over the place, just recreational flying that should provide some nice footage from the camera for my first experience with this P3 Pro setup.

However, I am now starting to wonder if I should just box the thing up and return it, rather than risk losing/crashing/destroying it in terrain that is at best going to be difficult to find/recover it in, should it fly away or just drop from the sky like I am reading reports of, at distance.

How concerned should I be about what I am reading on multiple forums etc? I haven't touched the firmware - its straight out of the box, Australian delivered and purchased new about 5 days ago.