Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iPad Mini 2 Holder

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by kenwhite, Dec 6, 2015.

  1. kenwhite

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    New owner/ forum member and I just received my new P3S model, unfortunately the holder is too small for my iPad Mini 2.

    What have other users of the Mini installed to make the Mini work with the controller, do you like it, and does it hold the Mini stable?

    TIA,

    Ken
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,073
    Likes Received:
    5,618
    Location:
    US
    Welcome to Phantom Pilots! :)

    The best and most secure option would be to install the Inspire 1 tablet mount. It requires opening your remote controller, but it's a fairly easy mod to do. See more here.
     
  3. kenwhite

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, that looks like a nice solution.

    Thanks,

    Ken
     
  4. ChrisRN

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    What I use for my mini 2.....inspire 1 bracket and tablet mount
     

    Attached Files:

  5. thousandyard

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    10
    I think it's a pain that they don't all have the same mount and to be honest it's annoyed me, even if it was just an option to keep p3s price down. The clothes peg phone holder wobbles like a jelly.

    ( first post and moaning already :) Hi everyone
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,677
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    lol..Welcome to the forum :)
     
  7. thousandyard

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi Dirkclod
    Thanks for the greeting
    Had a couple of flights now and am amazed at the picture and video quality!
    Excellent stuff, just have to be a bit careful with yaw speed of videoing as the camera lags a bit but to be honest you shouldn't pan left or right that fast anyway it doesn't make for good footage.

    Truly impressed with my new purchase
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  8. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,677
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Is sweet huh :)
     
  9. Shademan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    So here is the question...

    On all of the links concerning the install of the Inspire 1 tablet holder on the Phantom 3 Standard controls, I see some great pictures with not a lot of details and instruction on the installation. Things like the diameter of the hole you need to drill in the top of the control and any other "extras" not included with the Inspire 1 tablet holder, etc. Just some simple how to directions would really help. Does anyone have this level of details?
     
  10. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    145
    See the post here. If you have more questions, just ask. Very simple to do...You only need to open the controller and drill a hole to fit the nut mentioned in one of the last posts of the thread. Just be careful when drilling since there are wires underneath.
     
    #10 mandalay, Dec 9, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2015
    dirkclod likes this.
  11. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,677
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Like mandalay just showed ya Shademan and it helps if you walk your drill size's up when you do it .
    If his link is not enough for ya use the search in my signature and type in the middle ...Inspire holder and you will see many
    more threads on how to do it . We been putting them on P2's since you could buy them :)
     
  12. Shademan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, mandalay and dirkclod. I appreciate the help.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  13. kenwhite

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just received my mount and it looks like the nutsert size is 1/4"x20. Should have time on Friday to mount it.

    :)
     
  14. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    145
  15. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,677
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
  16. kenwhite

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am using an aluminum rivnut, which is a different hole size, and not the Summit part.

    The thread size is the same for all options...

    :)
     
  17. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    145
    That's correct. Sorry about that
     
  18. kenwhite

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nothing to be sorry about, the part you listed is a good option if you don't have a rivnut tool.

    Take care,

    Ken
     
  19. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    145
    The rivnut is nicer since it's flushed but requires special tool like you said.
     
  20. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,677
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    :)
    That's what I used but didn't have that gun so I just ground off the top of it to get to the threads, got it tight and superglue'd it just cause :rolleyes:
    I rigged it but it works great :) LOL
    A man gotta do what a man has to ;)