I need responsible input ASAP

Reaction score
I'm a noob to flying, but I proofread the weekly newsletter for an aviation-related consumer advocacy group. A reporter for a newspaper with over 1/2 million circulation has asked that group for input for an upcoming article on drones, and I've contacted the writer and asked for a few days to respond.

The reporter contacted our group's President, whose reply is below. I know 500 is 400, so skip that minor detail and other trivial corrections. I need the major arguments.

Our group is largely run by volunteers, of which I am one. As a member who currently works non-paid, who has contributed over $10,000 in cash and other support, I feel free to express my own opinions.

I'm asking for short, clear responses in the next two days, while I prepare my response.

Please don't clutter the thread with garbage. If you have something reasonable to say, it will be considered. If you troll, you will be ignored. In any event, don't expect a reply from me, altho if I find your response reasonable, I may ask for clarifications.

I'm doing this as a service to both the drone community and the flying public. And I'm almost 75, so if you're a clown, get off my lawn; I don't have time for you.

I'll spend turkey day working on this, so thanks for all the responsible flyers out there.

HERE'S the group President's first response:

Drones are now being sold by the hundreds of thousands, even as Christmas and birthday presents, that can easily fly over 500 feet which is the FAA limit.

Drones are not allowed to fly within five miles of an airport or in controlled air space like over Washington DC but many do and many operators do not even know of this regulation.

Drones unlike model radio controlled airplanes can fly outside line of sight of the operator.

Drones cannot presently be tracked by air traffic control or military radar to any significant degree.