Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional How to stop auto photo mode

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Birds-iView, Aug 14, 2015.

  1. Birds-iView

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    So recently it seams like there is an auto mode that got changed on my P3P.
    The exposure changes without me doing anything. It never used to do this. How do I turn this on/off?
     
  2. Russ

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Naxxar Malta
    Not to sure but if you look at this Pilot app image, in the top right hand corner you will see AE and a icon that looks like a lock, I think you have to make sure the lock is closed, to stop auto exposure.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    just the opposite-- you lock it for auto exposure and unlock it of manual.
     
  4. Birds-iView

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    When I hit that lock the whole display disappears. I like being able to see that display mode but now it's gone. How do I get it back?
     
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    you can read the settings on the bar at the top or keep the screen open if you like.
     
  6. Russ

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Naxxar Malta
    This may have been asked and answered before, if so I apologise and is slightly off topic.

    What is the best method to capture stills with the P3P, should I just video the whole flight and extract a frame from the video during post, or should I stop the video during the flight and take a still image, using the shutter button on the app/RC.

    If anyone has tried both methods, which gives the better result, thanks in advance for any help, from the Forum..
     
  7. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    I mostly do screen captures of my video and get some very nice pictures at night. I video at 1080p/24. Fallbrook Mall.jpeg
     
    Russ likes this.
  8. Russ

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Naxxar Malta
    Thanks for the advice mate, very nice night shot, I will have to wait until we get home to do a screen capture on my I Mac, the windows laptop I am using now, does not capture the screen very well.
     
  9. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Yes, I use the built-in screen capture app on my MacBook Pro. Works pretty well.
     
    Russ likes this.
  10. duse500

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    30
    just making sure I'm not missing anything on the macbook pro...
    You are talking about grabbing a frame from video while viewing in photos ,right??
    When you capture the frame ,does it go to your finder , Then you have to put it in the photos.
    Is there another way?? Like capture and it goes right to photos ?/
     
  11. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    I capture it while viewing the video in QuickTime and save to a folder with my flight videos and pics. When you save the capture you can point it to whatever folder or drive you want to save it on.