Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to get out of RTH mode?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ddublu, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    I'm at the beach this week and feel much more comfortable flipping transmitter off and engaging RTH once my bird is past a point. As it's heading back and I gain visual, how do I get control again?
     
  2. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Flip to atti mode then back to GPS
     
  3. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Can you gain control again after shutting the TX off if you are running a V2+?

    I thought it needed to be in NAZA-M to do this. Not sure what aircraft he has but for mine I thought you could not regain control after shutting it off unless you were NAZA-M.
     
  4. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    Tried this last night and it didn't work.
     
  5. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    What bird do you have and is it configured as it was out of the box.
     
  6. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    P2 with H3 3D and GoPro. It is configured, controller wise, as it was out of the box. I added the IRC, iOSD and gimbal.
     
  7. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    Please don't quote me on this but I'm thinking the procedure for regaining control is to hold the throttle stick all the way back while turning the transmitter back on. Someone will hopefully verify or disprove this.
     
  8. Acill

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    On my F550 with Woo Kong I have setup a failsafe using the spektrum receiver and not the option in the Dji software. I have it set so it doesnt shut the motors down but triggers the RTH. I also have my alt 1 slaved to my ATT/GPS/Manu mode switch so I can trigger the fail safe in any mode.

    To get out for me I switch to ATT and back to GPS.
     
  9. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I use this feature a lot when I lose sight of the bird, If in Vision mode and you powered off the RC to initiated RTH, turn the RC back on, wait a few seconds, and then flip the S1 switch from GPS all the way down, then back to GPS, which should return control to you, or if in NAZA-M mode and you initiated RTH with the S1 to failsafe position, just switch back to GPS once you have visual on the bird. This works for me every time.