Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Google Maps Cache - Issue?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Flyingoak, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. Flyingoak

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    After months of working perfectly DJI Go (I'm on 2.4.1) is suddenly not accessing maps cached in Google Maps on either of my devices......

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Brian T

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Devon UK
    I'm sure I read somewhere they only remain resident on devices for a limited time and then you have to do it again.
     
  3. garykeithmead1

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Uk
    Like Brian T said. 30 days I think
     
  4. Flyingoak

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Thanks, but an expired cached map is not the problem I'm having.

    The map is cached and I can scroll and zoom the map in Google Maps when the device is offline but the cached map is not loading in GO.

    The map is cached on the device, but GO won't/can't access it.
     
    #4 Flyingoak, Jan 17, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2016
  5. beeline

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Like @Flyingoak, The Go app does not see the cached map from Google Maps. This is a new Phantom so never tried it before today. Want to use Google Maps so I can keep the Go app away from the internet (the app thinks firmware is up to date using 1.4.10 and I like it like that).

    Can anyone offer step by step instructions to get the Go app to see Google Maps cache?
     
  6. Jtrjr

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Flying,

    I'm having the same issue on DJI Go 2.4.3 with AC FW 1.4. The interesting thing is that the cached maps do show up in Litchi v2.6.6? Just tried it this afternoon. DJI Go-no maps, Litchi-maps.

    Jerry
     
  7. beeline

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Only difference is that Go is 2.4.2 for me. My quest to keep with FW 1.4 is probably for naught because the P3P is being returned to DJI for soft focus (and they will update it, unfortunately). Anyone here running similar versions having success loading maps via Google Maps?