Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional "Gimbal Disconnected" ???

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by JasmineP3P, May 19, 2016.

  1. JasmineP3P

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I turn on my drone and my remote controller it says "aircraft disconnected". When I click for specifics it says "gimbal disconnected" (Picture attached)

    I don't get it because my gimbal is attached so I have no idea why it says gimbal disconnected??

    I broke my antenna on my RC and since then I've had nothing but problems with my phantom. I sent it in to get fixed and it is, so I don't know if these two issues are related?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SamNetwork

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Ronald McDonald Land
    Check the wire on the plug. If you see any silver wire sticking out of the plug, push the wire back in.
     
  3. Jimrobinsonnews

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem.. What do you mean 'stick the silver wire back into the plug"?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. tpuerzer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem yesterday. I followed the directions on a YouTube video on how to remove the camera/gimbal assembly and after doing so I was able to disconnect and reconnect the two ribbon cables and then replace the gimbal assembly. After doing that that everything worked again - so I assume it was simply a connection problem with one of the two gray cables. (Visually everything looked ok, so it must be really fussy about the connection). Hope this helps someone else avoid sending their unit in for repairs.
     
  5. AlaskaChick65

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same message. Gimbal disconnected. Did you have to use anything like tweezers or did you use your hand to do this?
     
  6. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    The silver wire mentioned is actually the connector pin(s). They snap into the connector housing. As far as the coax cables, they are captured by two little plastic covers. Assuming they are plugged in correctly, it is rare that they become unplugged. Easy to check by removing the little covers with a tiny phillips head screwdriver. They can be plugged in by hand, I don't recommend using any tools, they are very fragile.
     
    AlaskaChick65 likes this.
  7. AlaskaChick65

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. I'll give this a try.
     
  8. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    I should mention that to get to the covers and connector, the camera/gimbal assy needs to be accessible by removing the rubber bumpers and safety pins. If you do not know how to remove the pins, they can be cut, assuming you have spares. The bumpers are reusable.
     
  9. AlaskaChick65

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two spare pins, but I'm gonna hold off and let my husband check it when he gets home from work. I'm much too nervous to check it. I'll let you know how it worked out. I appreciate your help
     
  10. AlaskaChick65

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you remove these pins without cutting them?
     
  11. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
  12. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    I found the removal method to be pretty easy..........as long as you wait a few minutes.

    Sent from my Verizon Galaxy Note4 using TapaTalk
     
  13. AlaskaChick65

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever get a solution for fixing the Gimbal Disconnected? I'm getting the exact same issue.