Futaba T8J

Reaction score
So when I was looking to purchase my first gimbal (servo based Quadframe model, it was just so-so), nobody knew about the hidden pot on the back of the Phantom Tx, and I knew that I had to have the ability to tilt my gimbal down while in flight.
so I went with what most guys were going with - the Futaba T8J, and I gotta say, now that I'm hooked on this hobby, it's by far one of my favorite purchases.

But it was only until I got my new brushless gimbal that I've discovered all the possibilities with it, I've practically run out of switches to use!
I''ve found some neat tricks to do with it now that I've been exploring the features.

If you're as hooked on this hobby as I am,. I highly recommend this Tx.

If you've got any questions on this radio give a shout.
I'll be posting some of my tips here as well.

I know I've posted this tip before,. but figured I'd add it to the thread.
if you've got a servo based gimbal this works like a charm.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rS8_y8Px1kw[/youtube]

I had mixed results using it with my brushless gimbal (Arris), but I'm working on some other techniques to pull it off

I'll just add that if you're thinking of getting one, there are two models - Airplane and Helicopter
while they are nearly identical, there are a few slight differences.

-the Airplane one has a ratcheted throttle (it clicks a little as you move it). the Heli has a smooth throttle, but it comes with an extra part so that you can easily open it up and make it ratcheted (I believe the Airplane one one might have the smooth-throttle parts,. has anyone bought that one?).

- the E & G switches (on the top) are slightly different as well - on the Heli the E is a 3-way and the G is a 2 way, and I believe they are switched on the Airplane model (again, can someone confirm?).
I naturally prefer the heli config, because i like having the 3 way switch on the left for the IOC modes, just like the Phantom Tx.