Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First flight with my P3A !! RTH failed?? Good video quality??

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Holrits, Feb 26, 2016.

  1. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys I just tried my P3A for the first time!

    And of couse i tested the RTH feature, but i found it strange that when I pressed the button on the RC, the after 5 sec the Drone just started landing, it was about 10 meters from saved home point, but it didnt do anything else than just start landing, so i was needed to cancel the RTH so it didnt land on a roof.
    I tried it 3 times, but same result.

    Is this normal or shouldnt it be more close to home? I had FULL GPS signal 15+ sattelites
    I managed to get the log out of the drone (yay!) but we/I use it to see what happended?


    Also what do you think of the camera video quality is it good? i read some saying some of the cameras was out of focus. Everything here is recorded with the settings set to "auto".
    (seems like it got a little "redish" after i changed it in Movie Maker)
    And also what about the sound, how do i get that to work when recording?






    Best Regards Nicolai!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,598
    Location:
    US
    That's as designed. Your Phantom will land at its current location when not more than 20m from the home point.
     
    Holrits likes this.
  3. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay, so if not more than 20m it will just land, but if im more than 20, it will land at the "start" position / home point? :)

    Thanks for the fast reply!
     
  4. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,598
    Location:
    US
    That's correct.
     
  6. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Aldready did bro.
     
    InkyRisk likes this.
  7. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you know if its possible to get sound on the video :)?
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,598
    Location:
    US
    The Phantom 3 does not record sound. However, you can add a soundtrack afterwards via some kind of video editor.
     
  9. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    hm im just wondering yesterday i tried to livestream from it at my home office, and there was sound on it :O just thought it was the Phantom that recorded it
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,598
    Location:
    US
    It was the sound recorded by your mobile device. The Phantom has no microphone on board.
     
  11. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Aha! smart, thanks for the help :D :D !!!
     
  12. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Normal. If you are <20m from Home Point it just lands where it is. Go out a few hundred feet & try again.

     
  13. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    It was just so close to buildings so i was afraid of flying to far away :p
     
  14. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    I noticed you were flying right above the rooftop & trees. I suggest adding a bit of altitude to be safe until you get the hang of things. It is easy at a distance to misjudge. Also be sure to set your RTH altitude in the app. You want to make sure it is well above any obstacles you might encounter along the way. It's best to err on the high side! Also remember the RTH setting is in meters only.

     
  15. jonebk12

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    96
    Regarding the sound, it would be mostly useless to have it record audio. I had a Syma (before she got lost in a tree) which recorded sound. The sound of the rotors drowned out everything and got pretty annoying to listen to. That little bird was a lot quieter than a Phantom.
     
  16. offthefront

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    Make sure you settle RTH altitude @ a height above any obstacles between the aircraft and home ...
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,598
    Location:
    US
    And, don't forget to manually reset your home point if you move away from the previously marked home point. You don't want your Phantom to try returning to the old home point when you're right next to it after it lands.
     
  18. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, i have set The RTH attitude to 30 m :)
     
  19. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thats true :) just wanted to hear it, and see if it was possible :)
     
  20. Holrits

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Another thing, i tried the "follow me" feature, but when i tried to Press "apply" it kept saying, "not enough gps signal", is this my iPad gps signal? Still dont understand why it shouldnt have enough signal, standing outsite facing the sky :(

    And also, i a cannot enable The IOC in The app? Its "grayed out"