Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. realsting

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    40
    I accidentally upgraded my radio controller first. Now when I plug my iPhone into my phantom there is no prompt upgrade the aircraft firmware. What can I do?
     
  2. r62ewa

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    145
  3. realsting

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    40
    Thanx T62.. In fact it didn't seem to make any difference whether one updates the aircraft or the RC first. The only difference I had to re-download the DGI Go app to get it to recognise the new firmware.
     
  4. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    Take should have updated the bird first using assistant. But contrary to post 22, because of where you are at, take the adapter (the micro usb out to full size), put that in the bird.

    Plug either a USB or LIGHTNING (depending on if you are using iOS device or Android) and make sure you have a good internet connection.

    Load up DJI GO and wait about 10-30 seconds and it will tell you have a firmware. I would first enter the app even though you won't see anything because you have different firmware and software and they won't speak to each other. Wait for GO app to tell you you need to upgrade the RC (this should be fast). Then there is another firmware so do it all again. There is one that will take a good 15 mins.

    If it fails for some reason do it again. I promise if you keep this cycle, you will end up with a fully updated bird. I just did this to my second P4 and I recorded it and will put it up shortly.

    Good luck. It's pretty simple stuff. Not sure why so many people are having an issue.
     
  5. realsting

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    40
    I think people are having issues because there is so much conflicting information. I noticed today that (a part from having to re-download the app to get it to recognise there was an upgrade for my P4), it didn't make any difference whether I upgraded RC first or the Aircraft!
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1460740835.262094.jpg
    Another point, IMU calibration after f/w upgrade: I was about to do this when I thought I'd check the IMU settings - They were fine! I don't see the point in calibration regardless what one has done to their aircraft if the settings are still showing 'Excellent'. In fact, though I've only flown half a dozen (short) missions since owning the P4, I've never done an IMU calibration despite having down 2 full f/w upgrades, and my images look level.
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1460740747.399221.jpg
     
    #5 realsting, Apr 15, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
  6. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    I up graded mine here are the numbers.
    2.7.1
    01.01.0301
    1.6.0