Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Failsafe Mode Altitude

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by scdavis74, May 25, 2015.

  1. scdavis74

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida
    I am new to the P2, so please bear with me. I apologize in advance if this is covered on another thread and I missed it.

    This may be a dumb question, but I have to ask. I am taking my P2 to Iceland in a few weeks and would like to get some video of the waterfalls. My concern is, what happens if failsafe kicks in while it is below me.

    When you start the P2 and it obtains it GPS home point, it displays a height of 0m. I understand that when fail safe mode kicks in that it will rise to 20m (or whatever was set in P2 Assistant software), fly over to the GPS home and land. My question is, what if you are on top of a ridge/cliff/hill and are flying well below the GPS home when Failsafe kicks in? Does the P2 only rise 20m from that height before flying home, and possibly hitting the cliff? Or does it continue to rise until is 20m above home point and then fly horizontally until it is over the home point? I'm pretty sure the later is correct, but just want to get confirmation.
     
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    scdavis74 likes this.
  3. scdavis74

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida
    Thanks. I'm looking forward to having a great resource available here! I have so many questions and it looks like I'll be able to find lots of answers here.
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    IflyinWY did give you an intelligent reply . It will rise above what your HP is set at .
    Hope to see some of your shots from Iceland !
     
    IflyinWY and scdavis74 like this.
  5. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Thanks Dirk... :D I impress myself when I guess correctly.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  6. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    i would reset the RTH height, there are trees that are taller than 20 meters. Just to be safe!
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,713
    Likes Received:
    3,434
    You know the DJI design engineers are pretty clever.
    They've thought all this out so Phantoms have a pretty good chance of coming home.
    Here's what the manual says on the topic ....
    [​IMG]
    If the Phantom's height when RTH is initiated is less than home point plus 20 metres, the Phantom rises to HP + 20 metres and comes home.
    RTH is very important.
    I recommend reading that section of the manual and trying it out so you understand how it works.
    Also check out how you can reset home point and how you can resume control from RTH.
     
    IflyinWY likes this.