Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Failsafe behavior for non-GPS

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by daimous, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. daimous

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Everyone.

    May I ask what will happen if the DJI is flown with 'Ready-to-fly (NON-GPS)' status and looses the signal from the remote controller? what will it do when the failsafe is triggered?

    Thanks in advanced!
     
  2. RPA

    RPA

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    From what I've gathered and IME it will maintain altitude and compass bearing but will drift with the wind. Essentially, ATTI.
     
  3. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    My understanding is if you have a home position established it will RTH as normal to the home position wherever that is. If you never got sufficient sats to get a home position it will land straight down wherever it is.
     
  4. pjw73nh

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire USA
    I think I remember reading or watching a video someplace that BlackTracer is correct. But I too am interested in the definitive answer. Thanks.
     
  5. robininni

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't actually witnessed the behavior, but reading the manual I remember this:

    If you lose GPS 'lock' by having less than 6 satellites (not sure how long you need to have lost the 6th satellite--maybe 20 seconds like below), the Phantom will be in Attitude mode unless it finds 6+ satellites again.

    If you are in failsafe mode and you lose GPS 'lock' by having less than 6 satellites for more than 20 seconds, the Phantom 2 Vision+ will land where ever it is. It will not return to home or will stop where ever it is in the process of returning to home and land.
     
  6. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    If in 'Ready-to-fly (NON-GPS)' mode, then it will not have a home position established.
     
  7. sanderx

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    When flying in ATTI mode and you lose signal, your phantom will come home and land (assuming you have setup your failsafe as such and had a home position registered at start-up)
     
  8. pjw73nh

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire USA
    Sanderx, This seems to contradict everything I have been told about failsafe without GPS (ATTI mode). Can you point me in the direction of where you got this info? OR have you done this and had it fly to the originally recorded home point? Or am I missing something here?

    Tnx
     
  9. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    In ATTI mode Phantom does not care about GPS, it does not know where it is. How could it know the way to fly home?
     
  10. SilentAV8R

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County, CA - USA
    Let's see if the manual is of any help:

    Page 41 of the phantom 2 Vision Plus manual
     
  11. daimous

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you guys for answering and SilentAV8R for pointing out the right answer in the manual. But I have a follow up question. If I take off in ''Ready-to-fly (NON-GPS)' status and S1 switch is set to ATTI and ascend at a position where the DJI can get more than 6 satellites and toggle the S1 switch to GPS mode what will happen? Will it still assists me to stabilize the DJI if I let go of the control stick?
     
  12. Double-D

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Land Down Under
    Yes it will fly in gps mode as it has now got 6+ satellites.
    I have done this only once.
     
  13. pjw73nh

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire USA
    DoubleD,

    Do you know if (using the above 2 posts), it in fact DOES acquire 6+GPS sats sometime AFTER take off, will a new home point be recorded wherever it found the 6+ sats?

    What I am wondering, is, if as Daimous says in his post, he takes off without 6+ sats, Flies 200 feet up and 300 feet out and THEN the phantom gets 6+ sats. Does this become the recorded home point ? And if upon further flying, at some point it initiates a failsafe, will it return to this "new" home point that he acquired 200 feet up and 300 feet out ?

    Or is the software smart enough to know that he is somewhere mid-flight, and therefore do not record a home point.