Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Correct compass calibration

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Propking, Feb 2, 2015.

  1. Propking

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Louisiana
    First off, hello, new to the forum. I looked for this subject but couldn't find what I was looking for. I have seen two different ways to calibrate the compass. One is to spin the phantom in one place on both axis and the other is to hold the phantom at arms length and turn your body all the way around for both axis. Do they both do the same or is one more accurate than the other ? Thanks.
     
  2. kitari

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Paris, TN
    Here's a video on how I do mine. Not sure about the other method you mentioned.

    [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7gV109UIPuE[/youtube]
     
  3. Propking

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Thanks, that's how I have been doing it. Just seen the other way and was curious.
     
  4. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,200
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Not a good video. Oh, wait...I didn't get the second set of green flashes I said we should get. We must be OK though. Some videos are just a waste of time.
     
  5. RichardFlying

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden, somewhere in the forest
    The other method is on page 15 of the FC40 User Manual version 1.06. There they clearly show the FC40 rotated first around its own center, then vertical axis, both in a counterclockwise direction. I too have wondered if it really doesn't make any difference in the accuracy of the calibration. Anybody know for certain?
     
  6. kitari

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Paris, TN
    That was a fail on my part. I paused the video when I was hooking up the battery so I didn't have to lay the phone down, and simply missed the first time it flashed. I'll make a better video later so I get both flashes. I have a small tripod mount somewhere, but there's no telling where it's at. If I ever find it, I can just set it up facing the light, so I don't miss it next time. :oops:
     
  7. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,200
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    The video was fine except for that and when you said pull your sticks to the bottom and down. You did say it correct shortly after. Newbs will listen to every word and when we post HOW TO videos, we need to be exact. I wasn't trying to be an ***.
     
  8. Zdrone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    I crashed mine today and since it has been in red/yellow flash mode. I have gonethrough the compass dance several times and it fails each time. I am looking for a magnet to degauss. Is there anything else? It is failing to connect to Naza assist as well.
     
  9. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,200
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Don't be so quick to take a magnet to your compass until you have connected it to assistant and see that it is out of spec.
     
  10. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    The direction doesn't matter - just a smooth 360-degree rotation in both axis.
     
  11. Zdrone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12

    When I plug it into the USB per usual, the lights stop flashing and it appears to not be connected. What have I done?!

    I have it connected now. My compass Mod is about 1200. The pop up says normal is -500~500. I don't even know what that means. When I click Check IMU status, it pops up and tells me no need to calibrate. I don't see anywhere that an error code is listed. Where might I find that if it were?
     
  12. kitari

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Paris, TN
    Yea, I really need to start planning out how I'm going to do things before trying to make a video. I tend to just grab the camera and go with it, which doesn't really work out that well most of the time. I'd make a horrible news reporter. :lol:
     
  13. Zdrone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    Somehow I got it connected to Naza software, no error codes. Ran the "Basic Call". Powered down for about 30 minutes, started up just fine. Who knows.