Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Controller Beeping During Flight?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Toph, Mar 21, 2016.

  1. Toph

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Anyone else experienced this? Still had 60% battery life on the bird and 80% on the controller. Had full signal to the bird so it wasn't a RTH issue.
    Can't think of what might make the transmitter beep like that.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I know Controller beeps if signal is lost for "?" seconds. There may be more conditions under which it might beep.
     
  3. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    326
    check your flight log
     
  4. MikeyG

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you up to date on your firmware? I still have an old firmware and sometimes when I turn my controller on it beeps constantly. I figured out that I can turn it off by moving the joysticks around before I turn the on the bird the beeping will shut off. It never beeps during the flight though.
     
  5. tvckz

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    TVC
    This is bull s. You do not need an update. Check for gov people around. They are bad. I have just hijacked. Writing to Wu (DJI rep)
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Beeping when turning on controller means there is obstructions on the sticks. The potentiometer reads from negative 1000 to positive 1000 for up/down and left and right. For the controller not to beep, it must precisely register 0,0 when the controller is turned on. Try holding a stick down and turning on the controller. Notice the beeps?

    To rectify the beeping, try recalibrating the controller.

    The only other reason for beeping is when you leave the controller untouched for a prolong period of time..
     
    Jsun, matti and Sinisalo like this.
  7. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    326
    I am not sure what you are trying to say but the way it sounds makes me think you are being very paranoid.
     
  8. tvckz

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    TVC
    Probably. I bet your are right. Where are from man? We have another things up here. Anyway, thanks.
     
  9. Toph

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Huh?
     
  10. Toph

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Had full RC signal at the time
     
  11. Toph

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Phoenix
    I did try this but I'm having a hard time getting my Mac to recognize the bird after going into flight data mode. Still troubleshooting that
     
  12. Toph

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Phoenix
    I had been flying about 5 mins or so when the beeping started. However, I did do all the recent firmware updates and haven't calibrated the sticks since. Wonder if that could be playing a role. I should also mention I was using the FPV Camera app, not the Go app. Not sure that's relevant at this point but thought it was worth mentioning
     
  13. rk2069

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try to calibrate RC
     
  14. Toph

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Phoenix
    I'll give that a shot. Especially since I didn't calibrate it after all the recent updates.

    I brought it right home when the beeping started and it beeped all the way back home. Very strange
     
  15. garykeithmead1

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Uk
  16. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    This might not be what OP experienced but recently a few times I had loud RC beeping when turning it on. I wondered what was going on but it stopped after a minute. But then one time I believe there was a prompt to calibrate the RC.

    The manual is vague how to do that but a thread here helped me (I should move the sticks and ALSO the gimbal. I still wonder does it matter HOW I move the sticks). After that no beeping.
     
  17. HueJorgan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bish Vegas - Co. Durham UK
    hmmm really? I read your P4 thread and you were advised NOT to fly by 'government officials'

    However Its not nice losing a bird
     
  18. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland

    While in Flight Data Mode with everything connected, open the Disk Utility application on the Mac.
    There the internal Phantom SD card is displayed as an unmounted disk. If you can mount it, you can extract the .DAT files straight away.

    If it's not possible to mount the disc(it often isn't) using Disk Utility, select the SD card and created a Disk Image of the entire Phantom SD card saving it to my computer hard drive. To do this, select the SD Card, then File>New Image>Blank Image and save the file to desktop.

    After it has completed open the Disk Image as any other folder and save the enclosed .DAT files to a new folder for viewing.
    However, depending on how many .DAT files (flights) there are, it can take a long time to create the rather sizable disk image of the entire SD card.
    (The Phantom battery can often get run down in the process. Start with the battery at least 50% charged).
     
    Toph and matti like this.
  19. Toph

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Phoenix
    So I tried this and I'm unable to mount, but I'm able to save the root disc file. But it's only 100mb and I don't find anything on it. Almost like it hasn't saved anything.

    Any ideas?
     
  20. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Hmmm, what version OS are you on, El Capitain? Maybe try this.

    Disc utility - select the SD card and File> New Image > Image from Folder and let that run through.

    Let me know how you get on.

    CBS