Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can I install P3P camera on P3A body?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by polar_phantom, Jul 20, 2016.

  1. polar_phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    I recently bought a P3A. It works great but the quality of the realtime downlink video is very poor due to the high compression rate.

    I am wondering if I can replace my P3A camera with a P3P camera to get better downlink video.

    Here is a link for the camera I am considering:
    [WIKI]http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1148801-REG/dji_cp_pt_000191_4k_camera_for_phantom.html[/WIKI]
     
  2. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
  3. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Your link didn't work but lots of people have changed to the pro camera on the advanced.
     
  4. polar_phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you guys!

    I wonder what would the DJI app list the drone as after the camera replacement, a pro or advanced?

    The link is for "DJI 4K Camera for Phantom 3 Professional Quadcopter" from bhphotovideo.com. They are selling the P3P camera for $350.
     
  5. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    just make sure you do a firmware upgrade with a P3P bin file after you install Pro camera on your advanced, so you will have to use a P3X...bin file instead of P3S...bin that you would with advanced gimbal/camera installed otherwise the fan on the Pro gimbal won't kick in.
     
    Reed L likes this.
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,989
    Likes Received:
    5,590
    Location:
    US
    It should show the Pro since you'll be running Pro firmware.
     
  7. SnoozeDoggyDog

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    I'm going to light the fuse ... I .... Just ..... Can't ..... resist.

    It won't increase you downlink bitrate ......

    There. I said it!
     
  8. polar_phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    The 2-Mbps bitrate is the reason I want to upgrade. I don't care too much about 4K. But if I can't get better downlink bitrate, then... oh, well.

    I thought the upgrade will increase the bitrate. Anyone who have done the camera replacement can testify?
     
  9. polar_phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here is a picture of the P3P camera unit I am thinking about buying.

    [file]P3P Camera CP.PT.000191|none[/file]
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    The upgrade will increase the downlink bitrate as noted earlier, just don't forget to use the P3P firmware as I also noted in my earlier post. Check the classifieds. There are often camera/gimbal combos for sale there. Or reach out to @Ted4797 (camera specialist) or @hunch (phantom repair). They often have a combo unit available for sale and they are regulars here so maybe help them out first if you are so inclined.

    In one of the other similar threads, a wise man (@msinger) once answered the question, "Will that also give me the better 10Mbps over the advance 2mbps," by replying, "Yes. After swapping the camera/gimbal and installing the Phantom 3 Professional firmware, you will have a Phantom 3 Professional (minus the badges that say it's an Advanced)." You might also consider buying through @msinger's web site. He does a TON for the readers of this forum.

    Cheers!
     
    #10 Oso, Jul 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2016
  11. polar_phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oso likes this.
  12. theTastyCat

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    92
    Ummm yes upgrading gimbal/cam DOES increase the downlink. Which is the whole reason I did it - the FPV difference is night and day, easily the best money I spent. OP, for some reason some people are super intent on proving that upgrading the gimbal/cam on an Advanced to a Pro doesn't change anything/isn't worth it/doesn't improve FPV/doesn't change Lightbridge/whatever and it's simply not true - I'd do it again in a heartbeat. So upgrade with confidence! You will absolutely love it.
     
    Oso and Reed L like this.
  13. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Popcorn... Wait for it.. It's coming.