Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cache map

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by shockwave199, Dec 17, 2015.

  1. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    Can maps be cached via Google maps, or do maps only cache for availability within the go app?
     
  2. lotusteve

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    sheffield uk
    cached only in the go app.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,871
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    You can cache maps in Google maps on Android devices. For Apple devices, you must do it in DJI GO.
     
    JickMagger likes this.
  4. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    Thanks for the reply. I lost track of this thread I stared, lol.
     
  5. wbynum

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    How do you make the dji go app use the cached maps on android? Today I saved an offline area in google maps. When I went flying in that area the map in the dji go app was blank.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,871
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    Like this.
     
  7. Flyingoak

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    I have the same issue as wbynum. The map is cached OK in Google Maps but DJI GO will now not load the cached map. I can browse the map with Google Maps when my Samsung Tab S 8.4 is offline, so I know that the map s definitely cached on the device.

    Flying with the cached map from Google Maps used to work just fine; but not now.

    Any suggestions?
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,871
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    Flyingoak, are the maps available if you cache them in the DJI GO app?
     
  9. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I found it hit and miss for a while, you can also cache by viewing the area in the GoApp, but the annoying thing is it won't reliably go to the camera view and map screen unless connected to the phantom - which is quite inconvenient!
    There has been a subtle change - probably unintentional.
     
  10. Flyingoak

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Yes, that still works.

    However when the Google Maps cache was working I found that to be quicker and the cache would remain on the device for longer.
     
  11. Flyingoak

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    I agree with your comments about GO and that something has changed. But it's hard to see what.

    My 'phone & tablet are both on GO 2.4.0, the tablet is on the current (?) version of Google Maps 9.19.1 but the version on the 'phone is ancient - 9.9.0. Both used to work well with the Google Maps cache, but neither do now.

    Weird.
     
  12. Richard Walker

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    33
    Does anyone know how to force the GO app to clear its map cache?
     
  13. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    try delete all files in sdcard: Android/data/dji.pilot/cache
     
  14. Richard Walker

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    33
    Any way to clear cache on IOS devices or is it just one more of things that Apple hides because we are too dumb to understand.
     
  15. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    I believe if you restart the device it clears cache, but not entirely certain.
     
  16. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    How to Use Your Google Maps — Offline

    This seems to work but not sure how long the download/cache is retained.
    View in google maps, say "OK Maps" and it will offer to download and save a quite large area.
    You can then open DJI Go and it can access and zoom in even though you only viewed the wide area.

    Not sure how Apple deal with mapping
     
  17. Ariel@Hivemapper

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    We recently added a way to create your own offline 3D maps. It works exactly like Google Maps offline feature except it provides you with 3D data (like elevation for all of US and building/objects for many parts of the US).

    (right now it's Android only for any DJI Phantom / Inspire drone)


    [​IMG]