Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Best way to discharge batteries?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Astardriver, Aug 22, 2015.

  1. Astardriver

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    If I can't fly what is the best way to discharge my batteries down to 50% for storage? Any opinions?
     
  2. thestone11

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    Trun on the phantom without props on. But it will take a long long time to drain it. Some guys idle their motors but I don't recommend that.

    To be honest, it only takes 10 mins of flying to drain down to 50%. Try your best flying it I guess.

    Worst case, the battery will drain itself after 10 days of inactivity too!
     
  3. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    I would fly them down.
    Take the drone up to a good height, fly it for a few passes and bring her home...

    It's the best way. Or you could set them to discharge quicker than ten days in the app. Either way. I would prefer flying mine. Why waste a good charge? ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  4. Astardriver

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Unfortunately the weather is not being cooperative this week. I will have to let them drain slowly.
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    If you are using an iOS device, You can use them batteries for some Phantom 3 SIM, practice time as well. ;-)

    Which ever method works best. Yeah, the weather can be a pain.
    Hopefully it will improve for you, and you can get some stick time, out doors. Or go find a vacant gymnasium. . .

    RedHotPoker
     
  6. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    take the props off-- run them inside at idle-- until you get the voltage where you want it or practice on the sim without the props as Red suggested.:)