Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

best so far

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by teccer, Oct 2, 2016.

  1. teccer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    SW UK
    I know it's further than recommended but today I managed to fly my p3p with no extra antenna device across the fields to 4100ft away and had full screen picture and info all the way at 250ft high, what stopped me going further was cows in the next field but as it all went well I'll go further next time if the fields are clear.
    I know some of you guys go farther but this is a first for me, my buddy said to me I cannot go that far as I lose contact, so I watched him set-up with the top of the 2 antennas pointing directly at the 3p so when I pointed that out to him the correct way to have the antennas he done the same as me and said that was way beyond what he'd been able to do before, just goes to show it pays to RTFM.
     
    #1 teccer, Oct 2, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2016
    Numone likes this.
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I see how excited you are with your achievement. We all feel happy to see P3P performing great on field.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  3. teccer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    SW UK
     
  4. Cobs

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cumbria, UK
    Great fun eh Ray ;)
     
  5. teccer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    SW UK
    yes I felt like a kid with a new toy when I landed, good feeling just like when I'd had a good cross country flight in my hang glider
     
  6. Elvisisinthebuilding

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    What firmware are you running rc and drone?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  7. teccer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    SW UK
    RC is type GL3000C, using FW 1.6.0
    AC P3P using FW 1.9.60
    Nvidia Shield K1 using app 2.8.3.

    everything works perfectly so until it doesn't I'll leave it as is.
     
  8. Elvisisinthebuilding

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would get up to 5km on my p3p until I put 1.8.80 and 1.6.0 on the Tx now I only get around 1km


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  9. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    742
    Location:
    Australia
    Must have been big cows......

    It's amazing how far you can go with stock setup in a good environment.
     
  10. teccer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    SW UK
    it wasn't the big cows that stopped me it was because it's my village and I didn't want to upset the local farmer with his cows running all over the place so next time when there's no cows in the way I'll just keep going, :):);)
    I did make sure my antenna were absolutely parallel with the p3
     
    Johnny Bellew likes this.