Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Best Phantom for Mapping and Surveying?

Discussion in 'Surveying and Mapping' started by WillH, Sep 9, 2016.

  1. WillH

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Which phantom 3 is the most practical or best for aerial mapping and surveying? Since the 12mp camera is the same across all p3 models for photos would it be ok to go with the standard?

    I wonder if anyone is using high resolution video screenshots 4K for mapping purposes? Or are photos the way to go?

    Maybe the advanced gives you a little better distance and light bridge?

    Thanks for any pros and cons you can give.

    Will
     
  2. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Phantom 3 Advanced or Pro is by far the best bang for your buck.
     
    Grasstec Geomatics likes this.
  3. WillH

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks BigAl07.

    Yeah it looks like the P3 Advanced is the best one for my intended application. Just saw that the standard only recieves GPS satellites whereas the Adv and Pro are GPS and GLONASS enabled.
    Plus the camera on the Adv and Pro has a few more megapixels. 12.4 vs 12
     
  4. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    LightBridge alone is worth the admission price IMHO. It can be a game changer unless 1000' away from you is enough.
     
  5. tevek

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Agree, they use a P3P for surveying and mapping at the mine where I work after having forked out 2 x $60000 fixed wing drones to find out that the Phantom with matching software produced a better and more detailed report.
     
    r62ewa likes this.
  6. WillH

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for sharing tevek. I love disruptive technology that enables the little guy.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    Tx121 and filmalaska like this.
  7. r62ewa

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    145
    I have a friend who was using the Phantom 4 and when he started working at a university where they had a $60000 fixed wing he convinced them to just use the Phantom 4 as it was producing just as good or better results.

    @tevek, what software package are they using to process the images at your mine site, and are you collecting and using GCPs?
     
    Grasstec Geomatics likes this.
  8. tevek

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Hi r62, with respect to the fixed wing drone being used on site, the drone is using Real Imaging software to capture the data and the final editing done through Trimble Business Centre. As for the Phantom 4, the trials begin in October and the training package will include editing etc for presentation to survey. The results that I have seen from footage taken in Australia suggest some sort of 3D software due to the detail and clarity of the final footage. Sorry if that answer is a little bit vague as my involvement will (apparently) be flying the P4 down blind shafts and handing the SD card over to someone who knows what they are doing.
     
    Grasstec Geomatics likes this.
  9. VictorBravo77

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    DroneDeploy seems to work very well even with the P3Std hardware (that is, the a/c and r/c). Photos are geotagged and with reasonable ground-truth your camera resolution shouldn't matter too much. DD plans can be a little pricey, though, depending on your needs. DroneDeploy: Powerful cloud-based drone software.

    Anyone have experience with the DJI Ground Station setup?

    Tnx.
     
  10. Tommy Iversen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Norway
    Adv/pro uses the Sony EXMOR camera sensor. The std doesn´t.