Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Battery Signal Error

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Kromdore, Aug 24, 2015.

  1. Kromdore

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone, just recently purchased this item. So far, I love it!

    But I purchased an extra battery with it, and for some reason cannot get it to work with the aircraft. The DJI Go app says "Battery Signal Error" and lists it as 0% power, but the battery itself is fully charged. The original battery this came with has worked fine, not having any problems with it.

    I've been looking on the internet, but can't find what I need to do to fix thsi issue. Do I need to do another firmware update with this 2nd battery? I tried loading the files on the SD card like I did originally to update the firmware, but just cannot get this battery to work.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Edit: bbfpv resolved this almost instantly (didn't have the battery plugged in all the way, I feel like an idiot) Thank you so much!
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    make sure it's pushed in all the way.
     
  3. Kromdore

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    OMG, that is exactly what the issue was. I feel like an idiot, especially since I've switched this battery out 3 times.

    Thank you so much for the speedy reply and help.
     
  4. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  5. theFlyingHawaiian

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue, second battery "battery signal error" (never flown battery by the way). It's pushed in all the way, as it boots up. One screenshot of the battery History says "Invalid battery" along with a serial number. total of 3 screenshots
    What I've done so far:
    a. latest firmware installed, aircraft, batteries, RC
    b. booted up aircraft without RC, to let firmware re-write to suspect battery
    c. tested other battery and flown with it no problem.


    thanks!
    Everett
     
  6. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    The quad will still start up even if the battery is not in all the way. We're talking a millimeter, not "oh i forgot the battery, doh!". If that's not it, you have a bunk battery and should send it back.
     
    theFlyingHawaiian likes this.
  7. theFlyingHawaiian

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    the battery is seen by the quad and rc...quad engines won't spin up with that particular error message....does look like a bad batt. thanks
     
  8. jadebox

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Oviedo, FL
    I thought I was being careful each time I replaced the battery, but I got the Battery Signal Error during a flight yesterday. I immediately landed and discovered that, yes, the battery wasn't fully installed.
     
  9. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    ya what happens if its not fully in all they way is that the two main power connections will make contact still and let you power it on. But the data pins still are not making contact and it thinks there is some thing wrong with the battery. Some times it can also make just enough contact on the data pins before you take off to think every thing is ok then when flying will lost contact and flash the battery error and a message to return home and land.
     
  10. fellis

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Twin Falls, ID
    Same Problem - Same Solution - Thanks also.
     
  11. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yes, probably many power failure crashes attributed to this "little" mistake.
     
  12. SuhasTheBest

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar problem that I can't seem to figure out. My P3S after market battery worked fine last week but all of a sudden I can't seem to turn off the battery. When I put the battery in the drone, the drone starts up instantly without me even turning on the battery. In the app I get a can not connect to battery error. Then when I turn on the battery ( when already in aircraft) it works fine. But I can't seem to turn off the battery for some reason.