Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Atti Mode

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bob Dennis, Jul 1, 2015.

  1. Bob Dennis

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Plymouth
    I fly helis in a sports hall once a week, I have now got a Phantom CF40 and would like to try it out indoors. Am I right in thinking if I use Atti mode it does not us GPS and is just under my control. So if I am not in GPS mode I cannot lose signal so no fly home hight issues.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,598
    Location:
    US
    When in ATTI mode, your Phantom still has access to GPS. It just does not use GPS to reposition your Phantom.

    You can still lose the remote controller signal. If that happens and your Phantom is connected to 6+ satellites, it will fly home.
     
    750r likes this.
  3. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Welcome to the forum .
    Atti just drops GPS (will not hold position) she will drift . If you fly helis and want 100% control use manual mode you to set it up in the assistant software .
     
  4. diver_matt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    So Ca (IE)
    Somewhat conflicting responses here. Can y'all clarify? I thought it still uses GPS and will still hover if you let go of sticks. Is this inaccurate? If so, RTH could still be functional, right?
     
  5. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Yes it will still hover and hold its height.... but it does not use GPS for that anyway.

    It will not hold its X,Y position above the ground reliably, so you need to to control it 100% of the time to stop it floating into things/people.
     
    #5 Hughie, Jul 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2015
  6. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    If you are in a sports hall and are flying in ATTI mode.. there is no position hold in ATTI mode. If the hall has a fibre glass roof you may still have GPS reception, so if you lose control signal the Phantom will start the RTH procedure by climbing up etc.. even in ATTI mode.
    If you do not have a GPS signal it will stay in ATTI mode and drift around without control eventually hitting something or landing when it runs out of power.

    The key here is GPS reception - with reception you get RTH and GPS positioning.

    It will hold it's height in ATTI mode.. not it's position. Be wary very close to the ground - ground affect can cause it's height to fluctuate.
     
    #6 TeamYankee, Jul 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2015
  7. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    1,112
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I'm not sure what a Phantom CF40 is, but doesn't the Phantom 3 sonar and positioning camera keep the craft from drifting indoors up to 15ft high? Is ATTI the right mode for that?
    Sorry, I'm a newbie to P3, migrating from the Q500+
     
  8. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    He meant phantom FC40. It's an older model build on the first gen phantom platform. It doesn't have and sonar or vision positioning and would drift a bit indoors in ATTI mode. I've got one in addition to P3 and its like night and day different.