Anyone with experience of a Pirate Eye monocular FPV system?

Reaction score
I'm going to be flying my P2 with a GoPro and Zenmuse H3-3D system and I'll be using a Sony RX100 too. The full story is here
http://www.phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=10784&p=113044#p113044

As a photographer, I'm leaning strongly towards this FPV gear http://www.studiosport.fr/lunettes-video-monoculaire-pirateeye-pack-complet-p-2193.html. This is the 'Pro system' with two sets of glasses (clear and tinted) but you get the idea in English at http://www.fpvhobby.com/184-pirate-eye-lcd-goggle.html and http://www.1001copters.com/en/monocular-video-glasses/87-hobby-set-pirateye.html

I've read some good stuff here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1694221 And I've taken the liberty of copying and pasting a couple of other forum posts as below:

"I ordered a Pirate Eye in a desperate attempt to make our pilot's life a bit easier and to get better aerial shots in return. The main problem for the pilot was that he was at no point able to judge distances adequately and framing shots perfectly flying line of sight only. Our camera operator's ground station wasn't helping, as the pilot had to stand close by and look him over the shoulder every now an then to see the live-footage.

So here's our two cents wrapped up in a little review:

We ordered the "hobby version", as the pro version wasn't available. Not a big deal, as the only difference is that the pro version has both the smokey and the clear glasses and comes in a case.

In detail, our version came with the smokey glasses with the display and video adaptor attached, a nylon pouch, a cleaning cloth and a small goody bag containing an allen wrench,
distance pieces for the monocular, a neck strap and spare rubber rings for attaching the video cable to the glasses.