Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

3.08 firmware and issues?

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by malibusteve70, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. malibusteve70

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ever since the new 3.08 firmware has been released back in December, I've seen a lot of battery issues and motors just stopping mid flight.

    Question: How many of you are running 3.8? Now how many of you have had issues and how many have had NO issues?

    I need to plug my phantom 2 (non-vision) in to check battery and change a few things and I'm afraid it will auto-update. Is it going to auto update if I simply plug it in?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    I have not had any issues
     
  3. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    They introduced the RTH on low battery option. The Vision got a turn back now warning (I think). They changed the logic that induces auto-land including lowering the trigger voltage. They also changed how they calculate the battery percentage. This seems to be mostly to mask the issues around sagging battery voltage which many of us have seen. They also changed the firmware on the batteries themselves to help balance them better.

    Personally, I think they saw a growing number of complaints about bad batteries and then tried to fix it through firmware. Mostly ineffectively. My two bad batteries are still bad.
     
  4. malibusteve70

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okay...2 people running 3.08

    I know what the changes are. Can anyone answer my question about plugging in the phantom?
     
  5. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    What is your issue with 3.08? Almost everyone is running it. But if you don't want it to auto update, don't be online when you plug it in.
     
  6. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    No problems for me with 3.08.
     
  7. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    i'm upto date on everything, a few glitches getting with the latest gimbal firmware but all ok now
     
  8. malibusteve70

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have no issue other than hearing about problems from other people after updating.

    Alright! Thanks for the answer!
     
  9. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I'm on 3.8 and so far have not seen any issues come up tho I only have had a few flying days so far. other then noticing it takes even longer to land then it did even after the last update before that. and now it also has a real slow return to home speed. were before it would try to fly back home as fast as its speed limit was and as fast as conditions would allow.

    Which is not cool cause now if its some place far and battery is getting low its going to have a harder time making it back before its dead. It also really freaked me out when I used fail safe to bring it back after I lost connection at about 3800 feet away. and not even a full minute of flight then was waiting and waiting and waiting with no sign of it any were for what seemed like forever. I also most was starting to think OH NO it must of flew away or crashed then I seen it start to come in to view but moveing at a snails pace then I regained control and flew it back quick.


    but i did notice last night after installing a new main board in my p2v and when I was about to up date the new board but just had it plugged in to the naza assistant for a few minuts. the bastard went and up dated its self with out me doing any thing. Even tho I was going to do it any way it sort of ticked me off that it just went and did it on its own. That would of been way uncool if I didnt want to up date it.
     
  10. ur round next

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk UK
    No probs here myself on 3.8
     
  11. BWJ

    BWJ

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    It doesn't auto update, you have to agree to proceed update. ;)
     
  12. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Thats not how it worked last night when I plugged in my new board and was doing other things. it had the thing saying there was an update and I let it sit there for a few minutes. Then the window poped up telling it it was complete and to power cycle it. It also never made the beep beep beep screeching sound to let me know it was updating.

    all I did before that was to go to the tab were it shows what ver of all the firmware is for every thing. Tho I was about to do it any way. being I just installed a new main board and it was a few updates behind.
     
  13. BWJ

    BWJ

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    That weird, there has always been at checkbox to agree updating (it has always downloaded but not updated) ;) Maybe something new from DJI, to minimize use of other brands of batteries (it makes them useless) :cry: