Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Why do I get an update notice but can't update?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by nattieman, Jan 5, 2016.

  1. nattieman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well, after my Christmas Day crash I started to work on getting my bird back up and flying. I've ordered several parts and while waiting on them and reading up on this forum. I was made aware that DJI was offering different ways to purchase drones, so I started shopping. I found a deal at Sam's Club for a complete P3S $637.00. I decided to buy it and make my crashed bird a project.
    Anyways I brought the new bird online and paired it to my old remote due to the recent DBS mod. Pairing was successful but I was told that there was a new new update that needed to be done, the cold weather update. Prior to the crash I had done this update but now I have a new bird with my previous updated RC. It shows me on the DJI APP that this is a new update but there is no banner to press for the update. I'm just trying to figure out why. Could it be because I'm using the battery I had done the update with? Do I have to load up each battery and do the update?
    Any help would be great and thank you in advance.

    Rick
     
  2. PJ Orlando

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Tucson AZona
    Yes all batteries need the firmwear update from what I've been reading.
     
  3. PJ Orlando

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Tucson AZona
    I'm also wondering if people aren't doing every battery and that's why these sudden drops are on the rise.
     
  4. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Check the "About" area in the app and see what your on. ;)
     
  5. nattieman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok I will

    I will put all batteries in too
     
  6. nattieman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Crazy....... The battery in the bird must have been updated cause when I put in the next battery..... It called for the upgrade with the banner. Next will be the third battery...... Hope this solves this little issue.
    Thanks guys
     
    PJ Orlando likes this.
  7. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    That would be correct. As you install batteries that are not updated it will let you know to do so. ;)