Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What kind of SD cards work with the P2+?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by andyg, May 30, 2014.

  1. andyg

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys - I have a the Vision+ and wanted to upgrade the SD card in it, so I bought a SanDisk Ultra Plus MicroSDXC 65GB card, but it wont work. It says that it formats it ok, but whenever I try to take pictures or video, I just get an "SD Card" error.

    I'd like to get the highest capacity possible to increase my storage... what's the best I can get that works?
     
  2. malacca

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sandisk Ultra 32GB SDHC (not SDXC) card. Works great. Lots of storage.
     
  3. cougar

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great White North
    32 GB is Max / in the manual.
     
  4. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I have been using a SanDisk Ultra 64GB MicroSD XC1 and every now and then I get a "slow SD card" warning but other than that it has worked fine. I have not however written more than 32 GB to the drive. I'll try that this weekend.
     
  5. andyg

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting! Did you do anything special to format it before you started using it? Thanks for the info, regardless!
     
  6. metroplexchl

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My manual for my + says it supports "up to 32gb SD card". Looks like you got one that's too big. Maybe take it back for a couple of smaller ones?

    chris
     
  7. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I ALWAYS format my USB flash drives with the HP format tool. Other than that, nope.
    http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197
     
  8. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    So does that actually allow it to use 64GB?
    I see it says it can make a FAT32 larger than 32GB.
     
  9. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly

    I'll go try it now. I'll load up 40GB or so of data onto the drive and see if I can still record.
     
  10. SilentAV8R

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County, CA - USA
    I'm using a Toshiba 32GB SDHC Class 10 card. Works great.
     
  11. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Same here, they are on ebay UK for about £10 delivered, no point sticking with the slow-ish small one supplied.
    I think you are more likely to get a fake labelled sandisk than one of the other good names.
     
  12. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly

    I just verified that I am able to record video on a 64GB card with > 32 GB of data already on the card.
     

    Attached Files:

    • card.jpg
      card.jpg
      File size:
      98.9 KB
      Views:
      120
  13. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Mine won't read a 64 gig card at all. As the camera is only specified as 32-gig capable, it probably isn't a good idea to give people the idea that it works reliably on larger cards. Don't want someone losing their footage.
     
  14. Michigan_PI

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I'm using a (cheap) Microcenter branded 32GB card
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/3852 ... Micro_SDHC)_Flash_Media_Card

    I have been using the Microcenter branded cards for over 6 years in my business and have recorded thousands of hours of video, tens of thousands of photos, frequently formatting cards, and have only had 1 card fail (controller failed)

    I use the 32GB card in my P2V+ only because I have a couple for my GoPro, otherwise I would use a 16 or 8. The 4GB card is too small unless y
    ou are just putting around and taking a few photos/videos although personally, I rarely put more than 2GB on the card per flight.
    It is a good practice to change cards or at least upload the data from the card between flights if possible since anything can happen and if the card is damaged or lost, anything on it is gone.

    IMHO, 32GB is overkill.

    That being said, I usually have a 32GB card in mine, only because I don't have any 16GB cards that aren't in use in other equipment. I always copy the new files over to my computer daily (not between flights though) and when there is 16-20GB on the card, I image (backup) the card, archive the backup and format the card in the Phantom.

    YMMV
     
  15. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Yes I can't really see need for 32GB but the cards will likely outlast the device so may as well get a generous one.
    They are good in other cameras such as my Drift Ghost which can more than half fill a 32GB on one battery charge left running.
     
  16. Michigan_PI

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    That's why I use a 32 in mine... GoPro will fill it up in one charge (or come close to it)
    But I also run my GoPro as a DashCam when in transit and have it plugged in to external power. Constantly filling the 32GB card with that

    I think a 16GB card for the P2V+ would be ideal. You could burn through 3 batteries and not fill it completely
     
  17. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I completely agree. No nods to reliability or compatibility. Just sharing my experience for anyone else who may want to experiment..