Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Weak RC signal

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Uhly, Jan 31, 2016.

  1. Uhly

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Center Valley, PA
    Hi,
    finally took my P3S off beginner mode, had a few flights around, only went as high as 252 feet. Today went straight up, was planning on going to the limit of 400 feet. Got to around 300 feet and the screen said WEAK RC SIGNAL, so of course I freak out and immediately start to descend, and the message goes away. Flew around another 15 minutes, went as high as 372 feet, not straight up from me, and around 400 feet away. WEAK RC SIGNAL never popped back up. I had clear line of sight the whole time, wasn't flying near any interference, was it a fluke thing or what?!? When I input the flight record into Healthy Drones, nothing showed out of the ordinary. Thanks.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    Did you remember to point your antenna properly?

    P3-Antenna-Position-Single.jpg
     
  3. ObiDon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Going straight up, over your head, creates a bad angle from the antennas on the quad to the controller. That is why when you flew it again away from you, their was no problem.
     
  4. Uhly

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Center Valley, PA
    Thanks everybody, as soon as I typed the thread and thought about it, duh on my part, the antenna.
     
  5. Uhly

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Center Valley, PA
    I didn't know it was supposed to be at that angle, i'll keep it like that, I always thought, and kept the antenna at a 45 degree angle. thanks
     
  6. john339

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pointing the transmitter antenna correctly will work until the quad is directly overhead. Then the antenna of the QUAD is pointed straight up
    and no matter how you point the transmitter the signal will be weak.
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    As long as the long side of the antenna is pointing directly at the Phantom, the signal should be just fine (even directly overhead). It's easier to see how the signal is transmitted in the following video:

     
    ObiDon and Uhly like this.
  8. Uhly

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Center Valley, PA
    Great video
    Thanks for sharing
     
  9. john339

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen this video and it says when the aircraft is directly overhead "the signal is weaker then in normal cases due to the orientation of the craft's receiving antenna. We do not recommend flying directly above the remote controller."
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    john339, it might be weaker, but it usually flies just fine. Give it a shot :)
     
  11. knipfer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    39
    I've been experiencing this issue during the last couple of days (but basically in the same location, will try different location tomorrow). After reading posts for quite some time now... I have checked the antenna cables and they have a solid connection, but as dumb as this may sound I've been flying on 50% (maybe less) RC battery. So my questions is: Does RC Battery effect the signal between transmitter and the drone? I'm fully charging everything now and will test in new location tomorrow.
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    I usually don't charge my remote controller until it's down to one light. There is no need to fully charge it before every flight.

    No.
     
  13. knipfer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    39
    Cool, thanks for the response. I'll just try a different location next time, just seemed weird last time I flew in that location I went about 3,000ft, then this time flew 1,000ft and lost signal RTH two times.