Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

video not finsh the recording and datetime is 1/01/2008

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Alexbar, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. Alexbar

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi, may be this was answered on other post. But what is happening to me is that 50 to 30% of the videos i record dont finish well and they look with 01/01/2008 datetime, so i have to repair them (lot of time) and not allways i can repair them well.
    i allways record on the max resolution and wide. I tried stopping the record first, then the app thene quad and finally transmitter and ex.ranger. I did a lot of combinations with all that, but same result. What is happening with my videos??
    Thanks. :?: :?: :?:
     
  2. Nsacadura

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try to switch the sd card? It happens to me once. How do you repair the vĂ­deo?
     
  3. Alexbar

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes i used the default 4gb card and other one of 32gb especially done for android smarthphones. Same problem on both.
    I use Grau GMBH but you have to buy it if you want to repair the 100% of the video. If not, it repairs only 50% of the video . Anyway the videos after i repair them were in low speed and i cant change that without re-re-reprocesing them in some way.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Alexbar

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    6
    This problem is making me crazy. Could be that previous video on the sd go corrupt when i record the next one ? because i saw from the Sd one video and now isnt there, like if when i record the next one the previous one got corrupted...
     
  5. Alexbar

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Nobody will help me with this problem ? Nobody had a similar problem ? this thing is driving me mad.
    The only workarround i have, is just have all the time with me a notebook and copying the last video to the NB but it is not partical..!
    FCK!!!
     
  6. paulajayne

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bocking - England
    Options.

    1. Reformat card.
    2. Try a different card.
    3. Try a recording on the ground.
    4. Defrag the card.

    Reread your post and the date shows that camera is losing its settings - check connection.
     
  7. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Sounds a lot like a reformat of the card is needed. Do you use a mac? If so, you might find that if you delete the files off the card and then don't empty the trash when the card is still in the mac, the files will not be deleted properly. If I was you, I'd format the card while in the phantom using the app.
     
  8. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am seeing a lot of "reformat the SD card" answers being offered for various problems. In my experience, the SD card is almost never the problem.

    Here is my guess for your problem: you are removing the batter from your Phantom before you stop the video recording. This will produce the problem you are describing. I have done it myself.

    So add another item to your mental checklist: stop the video recording before you remove or turn off your battery.
     
  9. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...

    It sounds like you're turning off the Phantom before you stop the movie with your app. If that's the case... Just put the card back in the camera, turn your Phantom back on and wait about ten seconds. Pull the card out and take a look. Should be fine...

    -slinger
     
  10. Alexbar

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks all for your reply,. I will attempt format BOTHS cards that im using. For the other answers If you reread my first post you ll see that i tried all combinations and the problem persists.
     
  11. Alexbar

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Finally im sure i solved my problem.
    Some flights ago i changed the default setting on dji app:"When connection Breaks" -->State "Stay idle" to -> "Start recording".
    Then i started to have this problem with the recordings. Now, 3 Flights ago, i returned to the default setting that is "Stay idle". Magically the problem disappeared. :ugeek:
    So, if you plan to change that setting, please stay aware what happened to me. May be this problem arised only on my drone or may be it is a general version problem.
    I think someone can confirm this to me. Thanks again. :geek:
     
  12. finlayson

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
  13. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,237
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Thats awesome! I hope I don't need to use it, but it's great knowing we someone like finlayson taking care of us. Thanks!
     
  14. dpdpkpcom

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    awesome work !!!! Nice one.

    Can you write some software to remind me to switch the video on in the first place then you have the full package ?!!!!! ;-)

    Well done finlayson !!!
     
  15. sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    NJ
    I use DJIFix. It's free and works on 80-90% of corrupted videos. The other 10-20% are supposed to be playable in VLC, but I haven't figured out how to get it to work.

    Of the ones it does fix, the only problem I have found is that usually the last 10% of the video doesn't work, but at least you got most of your video back.
    viewtopic.php?f=7&t=5260&p=243841#p243841

    -Scott
     
  16. finlayson

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    The files that are playable by VLC can be played by VLC only if you rename the file to have a ".h264" filename suffix.

    Also, if you use a video format other than 1080p 30, then you'll need to use the latest version of "djifix" - updated about a week ago - that prompts you for the video format that you used. Once again, the software can be downloaded from
    http://live555.com/drones/DJI-Phantom-2-Vision+-video-fix/
    and includes pre-built application binaries for Mac OS X and Windows, as well as source code.

    If you don't see the end of your flight in the repaired video file, then it must not have been recorded to the file in the first place. "djifix" uses all of the video that was in the file.

    Ross.
     
  17. sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    NJ
    Thanks. Is DJIFIx yours Ross? Cause it's pretty awesome! :)

    -Scott
     
  18. finlayson

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes, I wrote the software after analyzing several corrupt video files.

    If you have a file that "djifix" can't repair, then let me know (there's an email address near the bottom of the web page), and I'll download and analyze it to see if the software can be updated to repair it.

    Ross.
     
  19. sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    NJ
    Nice, thanks. I've had 3 that say they can be fixed but need to be renamed to .h264 and played in VLC. All 3 did not work in VLC. Basically it opens in VLC with just a green screen and there is not time. Can't fast forward anywhere.

    Not sure how to send you a file that large.

    -Scott
     
  20. sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    NJ
    Also a requests, can you make so that if you don't supply the name of the fixed video file that it defaults to creating a new file and renames it using the original filename and appending '-fixed' to the file name or something. Just less typing to make it easier/quicker to fix several files.

    ie, just typing c:\djifix DJI00240.MP4 would automatically create a fixed file called DJI00240-fixed.MP4

    -Scott