Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Video feed LAG since v. 1.9

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by ImJim, Aug 19, 2016.

  1. ImJim

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    35
    Hey,

    It's been a year since I haven't flied my P3A. I updated to v.1.9 before flying again. During the year, I had a new iPhone, (the 6S). When I did my first flight yesterday, I noticed a lot of sudden jumps, black and even green bars going through the screen, stops, huge delay (sometimes 7 second delay).. when looking at my iPhone screen, during flight. I'm really worried about that, and I'd like to know if anyone has experienced these glitches with his iPhone 6S / or with the 1.9 version of the firmware. Note that I have "hardware decode" ON, and the two HDMI options set to OFF.

    Thanks in advance..
     
  2. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I notice same when I play with it but at home where there are a lot of Wifi, using a fix Channels (1-32) or using Auto don't change that much.
    It is by period, sometimes good, sometime 5-6 seconds. The remote control is not affected by any delay, only the video feed.
    When I am out in open space, it just operate nicely.
    Where you flying ? Maybe the surrounding has changed during this year.

    There is also a guy here (Phantom 3 Advanced Video Lag FIXED! – UAVDoc) that solved his lag due to some heat issue in the gimbal board. I will also check if this help.

    1 or the other or both or another, that's the question.
     
  3. ImJim

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    35
    I'm in the same location as last last year, and I don't remember any lag or delay. I had great flights last year! The only thing that has changed since, is the phone I use, (I had a 5S last year) and also the USB module on the controller that I replaced, (the original one was defective).

    Your link is interesting.. I'll try to fly in even more open spaces, to see if anything changes. Also, I can't find the bitrate settings in the app.. (Wait, it's probably accessible if you choose custom channel mode, right?)
     
  4. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Yes, bit rate can be selected only in custom mode.
     
  5. ImJim

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    35
    I don't really like custom mode, cause if the channel you're on gets unstable, you're most likely to f*ck your phantom ..
     
  6. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Yes, at least you keep telemetry (GPS position on map and orientation) and remote control (RTH).
    I must say I don't know if you switch in such case from custom to auto if it would restore the video feed. I always thought it would do.
     
  7. ImJim

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    35
    I guess it would do. :)

    But.. Yeah. Really upset about these lags and glitches, it's really concerning.
     
  8. soupbone10

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Stockport. UK
  9. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
  10. soupbone10

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Stockport. UK
  11. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Good, I ordered some pads but was still asking me if I should do it or not. Rain is expected tomorrow here, so...
    Thanks for having reported it.