Video Backups

Reaction score
I've been flying my P3 4k for about 18 months and an Inspire 1 V2 for 5 months now. After every day of flying I would download the video and still to a 4TB drive. Then reuse the SD card the next flight.
A couple of days ago I went to edit video and what a surprise, not a good one. The 4TB Seagate was dead. Too many bad sectors! I used every method online and took it to the local guru.
Nothing worked. I've list 18 months if video and still.
From now on I'll keep separate SD cards for every project to protect the original footage and back up but to a SSD.
How many backups do you use normally??

I have Seagates external HD 4 TB, I backup to one and make a backup of that drive to another 4TB, So far I have never had a Seagate HD fail, So far. These external HD are portable and I never bump them around and always eject them from my computer before disconnecting, so make sure the drives light is off and the disks are not spinning as I have seen a friends external drive crash and die because she pulled the usb out of the computer as it was in use.

In macOS I have one "Carbon Copy Cloner.app" almost up-to-date full bootable backup of my work disk and another every-one-month backup.

...just two weeks ago I begun to have occasional "spinning pizza of death" cursors and I/O errors (i.e. failing disk). So a few days ago I installed a new HD, then two days ago restored from a very recent backup, and just today I finished re-backing-up all. Nothing lost in the process.

My two backup drives are external Voyager "toaster" drives where I currently use 1.5 TB and 3 TB bare Seagate disks.

NewerTech® : Storage : Voyager Q/S3

Last edited:
All my photos and video are on a NAS drive (mirrored pair) and this NAS backs up to another NAS at my sister's house over the internet every night.

Paranoid? Me?