Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Using a different tablet/phone with the P3S - Question

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by mammatus, Jun 20, 2016.

  1. mammatus

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using a cheap tablet I bought at Best Buy with my Phantom 3 Standard since I purchased it in February 2016. I have never updated the firmware; I read horror stories, so I've just stuck with what works, albeit with some glitches on occasion.

    I have successfully done "Point of Interest" mode several times - it's fun. I want to try out Follow Me Mode, but even though the tablet has GPS (the DigiLand tablet - I mentioned it in another thread here: Can I use "Follow Me" with this tablet if I'm away from WiFi? ), it always indicates "GPS signal not strong enough...try again" when I try Follow Me mode on the tablet.

    Questions:
    #1: Can I actually use that tablet for follow-me mode? The phantom itself has always had sufficient GPS signals to fly, but the tablet never does. Can't figure out why.

    #2: If I skip the tablet and instead use my new iPhone 5s with my phantom 3 (since I know the phone gets a good GPS signal), with the DJI GO app that I just downloaded last week onto the phone, will that force me to update the firmware on the drone, since I have a version of DJI GO that is probably relatively new (downloaded in June 2016) and the drone was last updated in February 2016?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,581
    Location:
    US
    Your mobile device needs to have a GPS receiver in order to use Follow Me.

    No. Firmware can only be manually installed by you.
     
  3. mammatus

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the reply. I realize that I have to take steps to install the firmware, but my question is whether the DJI GO app on my phone is going to FORCE me to do that -- is it going to say the firmware is not current and I must update before I can fly?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,581
    Location:
    US
    I've never seen DJI GO display such a message.
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  5. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I think the 5s will download the app, but far as I know your live feed is going to be really poor.
    I am using an old iPad 2 messing around and testing way points.
    Not good just have to wait to see what I am looking at.
    Tell us how the 5s does.