Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Unexplained Crash

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Help' started by jrharte, Dec 4, 2014.

  1. jrharte

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I'm a recent owner of a DJI Phantom 2 w/ zenmuse gimbal (bought from the
    classified on here actually.)

    And I'm a recent crasher of said drone.

    OK, so I took my drone out (without gimbal / gopro attached) and had a fly
    around the garden to get to grips with the controls.

    Happy with flying, I stuck the battery on charge again and started assembling
    the gimbal and attached it along with the gopro.

    Took her out again in an attempt to do my first drone filming an disaster stikes!

    See below:
    http://youtu.be/dW2NK3O1cMo


    I just pushed up to take off, without any other controls and this is the result.

    Do I need to recalibrate the drone whenever I add / remove extra weight? That's
    only thing different from my test flight to this crash.

    Here is a photo from the flight just before the camera was added:

    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...1749141244.199335.506221244&type=1&permPage=1

    I had absolutely no problems then...

    Any ideas?
     
  2. LandYachtMedia

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central North Carolina, USA
    For sure you didn't wait long enough for the computer to fully warm up and get the GPS info.

    You have to wait till you get the fast flashing lights. That takes about a minute to get after you turn it on.
     
  3. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    I did not watch the video but I can say...

    ...you always need to (re)calibrate the compass after adding, removing, or relocating equipment on your Phantom.

    On of the main reasons for doing so is to compensate for possible distortions or other interference which the equipment can cause to the magnetic field around you Phantom.
     
  4. tgreenstone

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hudson Valley NY Drone
    +1 +1 on compass and waiting for GPS. From the video, it looked like it it went up and the wind/propeller push forced it right back. Lucky catch at the end, probably saved you from hurting it more.

    I always power on my controller, then place my phantom on the ground, boot that, and then get my FPV monitor/antennas ready. By the time i have those all installed and powered on, i have lock. Only takes a minute or two but well worth the wait
     
  5. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    62
    12 seconds from powering to take off? Then no home lock, not the minimum number of satellites, no compass calibration, then an Explained Crash. At least it was a lesser crash so do the preflight steps and try again.
     
  6. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    62
    Pre flight steps of a new quad: Verify firmware at the assistant and check IMU calibration. Update and calibrate accordingly. Calibrate compass, S1 and S2 switches all the way up, Tx on then power quad and wait for the safe to take off light scheme. Idle the motors for a while and watch them for any problem. Clean regularly the battery contacts and had at least an 80% battery charge.
     
  7. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Everything phantomi stated plus read the manual again.
     
  8. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    I can't imagine that it got all of the way through the startup. You have to wait for 2 separate series of rapid green lights, and then for slow green blinking lights.

    Also, don't move the quad after you plug in the battery. It sets the gyros and stuff and needs to be level and still so they can be properly calibrated.

    Mine take at least a minute and a half to go through the startup procedure
     
  9. OBX Kevin

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Annandale, Virginia
    I agree with everybody else. Also, make sure your Go Pro's WiFi is turned off.
     
  10. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    The video wasn't a clickable link. For me, that is.
     
  11. GaryDZ

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Shelton,CT USA