Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Turn the Amp or controller first?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by millionmanus, Apr 23, 2016.

  1. millionmanus

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just added (1)2.4ghz amp to my receiver for a stronger signal. Do you turn on the amp first or the controller? I do not have an anteuator on it. Seems like there we some different opinions on it.
    Just posted pic, as someone was wanting to see what i have done.

    Thanks

    [​IMG]
     
    #1 millionmanus, Apr 23, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2016
    Romans109 likes this.
  2. Romans109

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    as long as all cables/wires are connected properly i found with my set up it doesn't matter the order but just to be safe i make sure my amps are on first then i power on my RC, i've even flown without the amps on but i can't get very far lol


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. Romans109

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    do you have a picture with the RC set up?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Yep, I always do amps 1st but we were having this same discussion today on my other post and there is some convincing reasons to maybe turn controller on first then very quickly turn on amps to allow controller power spike to deaden before amps are powered to avoid burning the amp up!
     
  5. Romans109

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    sounds like a wive's tale -about the amps burning up


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    There is an initial spike that comes from the controller on power-up (found in a sine wave test) and that's what causes the concern with the amp because the spike is in excess of the amp's maximum power input range. This was discussed in a thread last year. Tony of FPVLR who sells these amps suggested using an attenuator. Then it was theorized that if the controller was turned on first, the amp wouldn't be subject to the spike since it was not powered on. So no attenuator would be needed. What about burning the transmitter? It was explained in another thread that the power would be absorbed by the amp even though it is off.
     
  7. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Could be but i have had (2) go out with no explanation?
     
  8. Romans109

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    these are two contradictory statements in your paragraph, even though they are not your statements.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Sim597 likes this.
  9. Romans109

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    what kind of amps did up have? brand, wattage ect


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Sunhans 2.5 & hot deal 4 watt ( the black cheap ones
     
  11. Romans109

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    sunhans are good in my opinion, couldn't possibly explain as to why they burned up though


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Yep Romans, I don't know either! But if there is something to a power spike when you initially turn the controller on, and I'm not saying there is because I have no way to tell that, then that would definitely do it. That's why I shared it on your thread here.
     
  13. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    Well, there is some info about NOT turning on the RC without the antenna or it'll burn out the internal booster, so does that play into anything? Maybe it's best to have the controller on first, so if you turned on the Amps first, they would be hitting the RC with no way of controlling the spike?
    I'd love an engineer (electrical) to chime in here to let us know, I have the antenna and prolly gonna get the boosters. With only using one, which signal are you boosting? For which phantom, inspire?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. millionmanus

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    @Sim597 I am boosting the 2.4 signal on my P3 standard


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Mr DroneNut

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hey millionmanus. I've got a Banggood 2 watt 2000ma 2.4 booster. Upon opening my controller up I found that the drone operates on 5.8 and the wifi camera on 2.4. Is that correct? The label on the transmitter that goes to the antenna says 5.8 ,and the transmitter going to the 2 flat antanna's say 2.4. I'm a little unsure about which is correct. What is your take on this
     
  16. Romans109

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    i hear ya but this ain't my thread


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    dirtybum likes this.
  17. millionmanus

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    @ mr dronenut yes, the one going to the antenna is the 5.8 and the ones going to the flat panels on the left and right are the 2.4ghz


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. Mr DroneNut

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    That's what I thought. So the drone operates on 5.8 and the wifi camera on 2.4. Very interesting
     
  19. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I think the idea is the amp, since it is turned off, is protecting the sensitive areas. This causes the amp to mimic an antenna and so the energy radiates out as it does with an antenna.
     
  20. Romans109

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    so in your opinion, you say turn on the RC first then the amps? or the amps then the RC?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app