Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Tried using my Iphone 6 as a hotspot with wifi ipad mini...FAIL

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by QuadBart, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. QuadBart

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    USA
    I tried using my Iphone 6+ as a hotspot to my Ipad Mini Wifi. I was told this would work from a source I thought was very knowledgeable. So I thought I would test it....

    Well, it just barely works. "F" modes won't work. Complains of "too weak a GPS Signal". The camera feed is also super laggy.

    I tested this at my usual testing grounds. Wide open space for hundreds of meters in all directions, next to no trees, and those that are there are short no more than 20' high, clear skies and my flying app, says; "Good Flying Conditions". When I fly with my Iphone 6+ directly, all "F" mode functions work.

    So effectively, it doesn't work or it didn't work worth a darn for me. But YMMV... just my experience...
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,073
    Likes Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    US
    All this will do is give your iPad Mini access to the Internet. It will not allow your iPad Mini to use your iPhone's GPS.
     
    QuadBart likes this.
  3. RoyB

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Massachusetts
    I believe you will still need an external GPS unit to work through your iPad. I bought the Garmin GLO to use with my iPad mini 4. Haven't tried it yet. Hope it works ok
     
  4. QuadBart

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    USA
    Sucks but I'm just going to go on Craigslist and try and find a Ipad Mini 2 or newer with cellular. I thought I did my homework before I bought my P3A, but apparently I missed that small yet expensive detail...

     
  5. RoyB

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Massachusetts
    Just be aware, a stand alone GPS with much better performance than you will find the GPS in an iPad is only $100. Some folks report the GPS out of the iPad mini2 is unsatisfactory.
     
  6. QuadBart

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    USA
    I'm really curious how this works, seems like a 'cheap' solution, Hurry up and use it so you can report back! :)
     
  7. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Look into Bad Elf and see if you can use it AND the lightening cable at the same time.

    I flew 150 + miles and compared the planes gps and bad elf gps with actual ground landmarks and the Bad Elf was exact.
    I believe my cost back then was 99 USD
     
  8. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    156
    I'm not sure what you are trying to do with your hotspot connected iPad? I'm guessing your iPad Mini is the first generation and it isn't listed by DJI as a compatible device. It just doesn't have the processor speed.

    The one thing tethering will do, is download maps for you. It won't do anything as far as turn your non-cellular iPad into a GPS enabled device.

    "Some folks report the GPS out of the iPad mini2 is unsatisfactory."

    My iPad Mini 2 (cellular) works just fine as a GPS. Its chip utilizes both GPS and GLONASS satellites. What it lacks, and what ever smartphone and tablet lack as a GPS is WAAS capability. So accuracy is under 15 meters 95% of the time instead of the 3 meters that a WAAS enabled device (such as most trail GPS receivers).

    Clear as mud?

    S
     
  9. buzo831

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    13
    I think this forum has a huge technological defficiency going on here. I thought these quads were somewhat meant for the tech minded people?
     
  10. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Well... Aside from insulting a chunk of people... I don't think your comment is particularly true. The whole point of the Phantom is to bring a flying camera platform to the masses... So I am not surprised that there are people here that need more help understanding the tech than others.

    That said, there are a lot of people who misunderstand the gps requirement of the tablet/phone for some of the automated flight modes that require knowing where the pilot is in relation to the quad.
     
    QuadBart likes this.
  11. droneuk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    From what I have read on this topic, and I'm very new to this, the main features you loose are the Follow Me flight mode, and the ability to download map data on the fly.

    You can cache the maps in advance I think - there's an option in the app to cache maps?
     
  12. QuadBart

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    USA
    LOL! What I think we have here is a troll problem! If you've got nothing constructive to add just move on... Apparently someone doesn't know how to use the forum, I guess forums are for computer savy/minded people that know you don't have to respond to every post especially if you have nothing constructive to add...

    Back on topic. Found a great deal on an Ipad Air with Cellular and picked that up. Since I'm older the the larger screen will actually be a plus...

     
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,073
    Likes Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    US
    Currently, the only thing you will lose is the ability to use the Follow Me feature in the DJI GO app and the ability to reset your home point to your current location after takeoff. For the latter, you can still reset your home point to your Phantom's current location (if needed).

    In the DJI GO app, enable this setting:

    DJI-GO-Cache-Map-In-The-Background.PNG

    And, then cache the map images in the DJI GO app -- like this:

     
    droneuk likes this.
  14. buzo831

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    13
    There are just numerous threads here that are duplicative and just not what I have inticipated. I mean, we had a thread made because someone didn't know how to quote in a thread...

    I also commented because is $100 really considered cheap? Don't think that's necessary really.
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,073
    Likes Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    US
    This happens in every forum online.
     
    Buckaye likes this.
  16. RoyB

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Massachusetts
    The small ELF that plugs directly into the Lightning port on an iPad will not work as you need this port to connect to the controller. I researched and could not find some type of lightning port hub. Therefore the GPS unit needs to be attached via blue tooth.

    Using the Garmin GLO in the car, I realized I still needed internet connection for the maps to update as I drove along. I'm not sure I will need this feature if I'm cashing maps ahead of time. Yes/No?
     
  17. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    156
    About the only thing I find handy with having a GPS enabled tablet, is the fact when I get to a location where I'm going to fly, and have cached the aerial photos, is it shows where I'm at.

    I've done the Follow Me bit just to check it out and kind of doubt I'll use it again. (Which of course requires a GPS device.)

    S
     
  18. Dave from Ok

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    18
    I use my S5 active as a hotspot for my iPad air2 wifi only. Works like a charm. The f modes only work when air borne, the weak wifi might have been the bird itself, how many satellite locks did you have?
    Seriously, it caches the maps and works perfect.
     
    #18 Dave from Ok, Feb 14, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2016
  19. eyecon82

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    67
    What worked like a charm? Gps?

    Sent from my XT1575 using PhantomPilots mobile app