Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Switching to Atti, with Multiple Flight mode disabled, resets the p3p from erroneous P-OPTI mode!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Foosy, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. Foosy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    93
    Since I discovered the above and it might help others, I thought it deserves its own thread.

    After my near flyaway, I examined the logs and my latest conclusion is that:
    Switching to Atti, with Multiple Flight mode disabled, resets the p3p from erroneous P-OPTI mode!

    Switching to Atti should not be doing anything, but I am glad it did. The logs reveal that I had Multiple Flight mode disabled. My near flyaway was a result of the p3p switching to P-OPTI, for a reason that is still unclear to me, while it was at a height of 33 meters.

    However, as it turns out, my physical switching it to Atti, was the trigger that reset it to P-GPS and allowed me to regain (partial) control and land it back safely.

    I notified dji, as can be seen here. Let's hope we can get some answers.
     
  2. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    I don't think it matters that multiple flight mode is disabled. Also, I always make it a habit to "take control" by physically switching to ATTI when there's issues. Learned this on my FC40. The phantom going into another mode, even ATTI on its own (ie. due to loss of satellites) isn't the same as manually switching (so it can't automatically go back and forth between modes). With the P3 and logs, people have more visibility to how the flight controller behaves. But for us 'oldies' it reaffirms our approach to flying.
     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  3. Foosy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    93
    Yes you are right, but this is not the case here. I reviewed the logs and discovered that satellites were ok: 15. Everything was OK then it switched on its own to P-OPTI mode and started drifting. The thing that got it back to P-GPS was me flicking the switch. That is the point I am trying to make.
     
  4. Kev Farthing

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I had a similar fly away this morning. How did you access all the data in your logs. I could to with comparing my data with the issues you had. Cheers
     
  5. Foosy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    93
    The data is located on both the phantom and the mobile device.
    I didn't find the data on the device useful and it also takes way too much time to downLoad.
    The data on my iPad was very useful.
    You need to connect your phone/tablet to the computer and access your app data. You will find TXT files. You can upload them to a djilogs.com which will convert them to a csv which you can open in excel. Then you can start analyzing and comparing to the information in the user center for this flight.
     
    Kev Farthing likes this.
  6. Kev Farthing

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Many thanks. I managed to pull the data file and confirm it was indeed the flyaway flight. Looking through I have to confess its all nonsense to me. If anyone understands this and wishes to see it and compare this data to their flyaway I will be more than happy to supply the file. Every little helps.
     
  7. REBELimgs

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    91
    Will the P3 erroneously switch to P-Opti If you've disabled VPS?
     
  8. Foosy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    93
    Probably not, but I don't know for sure.
     
  9. Foosy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    93
    Sure, I will help. Take the csv file and zip it so you can upload it to this site. I will look at it. Also, record the video of the map with the overlay of the sticks and post it as well.