Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Still Can't Get The Compass To Calibrate??????????

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Glen Ivey, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. Glen Ivey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently got a P3A awsome machine.Still having issues with calibrating the compass, everything else is ok. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I have gotten to where it calibrates 2 greens light flash and other 2 are solid red.
     
  2. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,564
    Likes Received:
    727
    Location:
    Australia
    Back boom lights flashing green and front solid red sounds like she is ready to fly. How do you know the compass isn't calibrated?
     
    ROD PAINTER likes this.
  3. Glen Ivey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    well when I first looked at the DJI go app it had a caution sign for the compass calibration it does appear ready to fly and does fly I thought it had to be flashing green for all the lights lol but when I turn if on now seems to be ok weird compass says ok but I thought I hadn't calibrated the compasd.
     
  4. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,564
    Likes Received:
    727
    Location:
    Australia
    Hopefully you have a good calibration. Did you make sure you were in the open away from any large ferrous metal structures? When you look at your sensor status n the GO app what compass mod value do you have? Does the heading pointer align with the actual AC orientation?
     
  5. Glen Ivey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    away from large metal objects not sure about the mod version I have or what the header pointer align means with the actual Ac orientation sorry
     
  6. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,564
    Likes Received:
    727
    Location:
    Australia
    Select drone symbol followed by advanced sensors to see the compass mod value.

    The red arrow depicting the AC heading is in the bottom left of your screen. It may have the map over it so you might need to close the map to see it.
     
  7. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,564
    Likes Received:
    727
    Location:
    Australia
    If you haven't done so already I'd suggest going through the manual. If you don't feel like reading the whole thing I'd suggest Return to Home, CSC and making sure you understand every menu and setting in the GO app as priorities.

    These things can go from great fun to a nightmare very quickly if you aren't familiar with how they perform when the unexpected happens.
     
    Numone likes this.
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,684
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    If your Phantom flies straight and doesn't do any slow spiraling, your compass is calibrated properly.
     
  9. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    That's normal. As others have said, please RTFM - it's what it's for.
     
    Mark The Droner likes this.
  10. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    I was having that problem with my P4. Finally discovered the problem.....the P4 has 2 compasses mounted in the landing gear. Where this landing gear attaches to the drone are a small cover cap/door. Popped one of these doors off and there it was. Compass was unplugged inside the landing gear. Plugged in and solved problem. Hope yours is so simple to fix


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  11. Northern Observer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    20
    Get a service ticket going. There is a known factory defect affecting compasses on P3A's
     
  12. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    You may just have a bad compass. They get messed up I have read if they ever get close to a magnet. The good news they or it how ever many you have are located in the landing gear and most of the time easy to replace.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. Graham Sumner

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Be careful. Mine went crazy and is being checked and repaired. Do first flight in open space. Be ready to hit atti mode if things don't look good then land.

    Sent from my MotoG3 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Really? Where's that discussed - did a search and couldn't find it?
     
  15. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
    it seemed like many were sending them in and dji was replacing the landing leg with compass.

    many others started to replace them themselves and it seems to fix the issue.

    sounds like a bad batch from the mfg got installed
     
  16. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Many others.... 10? 50? 5000?
    OK, I've now found four threads on the subject of Compass Replacement; two of those relate to a P3S and one of those replaced the compass and it didn't fix the issue.
    At least one looks like it was an issue with the phone/tablet compass. This thread appears to be user error so I think we can pretty-much say, this isn't a "known factory defect".
     
  17. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    I simply answered your question based upon posts I have read in this forum and dji forum
    .
    about 2 months or so back compass issues were quite often posted , and many folks sent there pjantoms in and the parts changed were the compass leg. The posts started around same time and ceased after several weeks.
    very much the same as how about a month back every other post was about Samsung stuff not working or crashing the app etc. Those post have pretty much stopped now as well

    good luck and have fun flying
     
  18. RC Madman

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Manteno IL
    Be sure to have a good number of SATs. If I have less than 10 getting a "Good" calibration is next to impossible for me. If I have 12-14 I get a good cali each time.

    Also be sure to follow the proper connection process. Power up the radio, power up the quad and connect the phone/tablet.

    I am not new to RC but I am new to DJI stuff and the Phantom 3A. I am only stating what I see that seems to work.
     
  19. Northern Observer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    20
    User error, nonsense.

    July 2016: sent back to DJI a new P3A unit with a defective compass, the unit can't fly in a straight line but it took great video.

    August 2016: Receive a P3A back from DJI. This unit has a different S/N than the new one sent, it flys beautifully, but the camera is defective. I send this unit back too.

    October. 2016: I receive from DJI a P3A with what appears to be a new camera. It takes great video, but guess what, it presents with compass errors.

    What a joke. Jokes on me I guess. I'll never buy a DJI product again.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  20. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,684
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    What you observed is just a coincidence.
    The GPS and compass are unrelated systems.