Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Sj4000 action cam being shipped. Standby for review.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ozzyguy, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Ok guys as the title suggests I will be reviewing this little action cam as a gopro alternative. I will give a Phantom 1 specific review of this in the coming weeks. As I don't have a Gopro I will not be comparing this to my Faux pro as I like to call it.
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Quick zoom about with mine on the P1

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yD6DJ6f9KNo[/youtube]

    This is worth saving :)

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Qlq2osUn9I[/youtube]
     
  3. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Mate thats **** good considering no gimbal. Great job. I feel better now about my intended purchase.
     
  4. devveldogg

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have had one for a few months and can't complain about it. I am using a Walkera G-2D brushless gimbal with pretty good results on my Phantom 1
     
  5. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    There's some new Firmware for it which is supposed to improve the stills somewhat.
    (a definite weak area, it seems better to screengrab from video)

    Read about it here carefully though to get the right version - translation option on right.
    http://metropolitanmonkey.blogspot.de/p ... mware.html

    The latest one now seems to be able to output video for FPV in TV Mode after doing this update.
    Presumably while recording.
     
  6. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Mine is the older type so TV Mode has not appeared, however the JPGs have improved immensely from *Meh* almost unusable to rather good.
    The auto white balance seems to make things a bit blue.
    If you set it on cloudy it's a little yellow but generally better for most scenes (outdoors anyway)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. devveldogg

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
  8. wkf94025

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    St. Helena, CA
    Does it have the same backplane connector as the GoPro Hero3+? I.e., can it be plugged into a Zenmuse gimbal?

    Kelly
     
  9. leedavid2606

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive just bought this camera for my phantom v1.1.1 the newer phantom 1 with dual anttena's ect...


    problem is whenever i try to use it i get massive gps interfernce i turn phantom on wait till i get all green flashing lights and home point set the when i switch the camera on all i get is 1 green 3 red lights for gps
     
  10. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Thanks for the heads up. Does it have wirless? You could try a layer of aluminium foil on the botom of your phantom
     
  11. leedavid2606

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    no doesnt have wifi the camera is brilliant to be honest

    yes could try some foil under the phantom but could end up interfering with the signal to the transmitter are the compass
     
  12. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Honestly Its the first time i've heard of this problem for this camera. Makes me consider some other form of interferance.
     
  13. leedavid2606

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is no other interference tho??

    phantom gets gps with no problems sets its home position i get all green lights untill i switch camera on then 3 red 1 green


    the camera doesnt even have to be on the quad i can be stood near the quad with camera switched on and it strts to interfere with the gps module
     
  14. leedavid2606

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    going to wrap camera in foil later and give that a try
     
  15. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Let us know if it makes a difference.
     
  16. leedavid2606

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    so ive wrapped it in foil and all works now brilliant only gave it a quick test as its very windy here in sheffield but yes it works well
     
  17. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Excrement!
     
  18. BigTulsa

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    that might be one for DamnYouAutocorrect I bet...LOL.
     
  19. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Lol no acutally I use it frequently in place of excellent. You'd be suprised how many people don't notice :lol:
     
  20. Wedeliver

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Tionesta, California
    The folks who fly the vision series have telemetry data such as the number of sats. There have been reports of loss of Sats when camera recording is turned on. There is a fix, but not to wrap the camera in foil, but instead shield your gps module from camera wifi spray that might be interfering with the gps.

    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=19099

    Since pilots of Version 1 and FC40 have no indication of how well the gps module is working in most instances, we might not have seen the drop of the number of sats reported by the Phantom 2 Vision +.

    I have a role of aluminum foil tape that I will try after I get a good camera.