Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Right camera scroll wheel is also a button!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by VoicOfReason, May 23, 2015.

  1. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Maybe I'm the last person to realize this, but I just found out that the right scroll wheel to control camera exposure settings is also a button you can press IN to move between settings. Does everyone else know this but me?
     
    fly_it, Vanjo Grale and Jeff48920 like this.
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,861
    Likes Received:
    5,557
    Location:
    US
    #2 msinger, May 23, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2015
    StevenQX, AmosMoses and F6Rider like this.
  3. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    I did read it but missed that part.
     
  4. _007

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    11
    DUDE! I read that Manual twice.. and quick start and watched the videos and I still didn't know that.
     
    isopro likes this.
  5. zincsoldier

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    31
    Good find. I must have been in a bit of rush to fly my P3P :)
     
  6. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I saw one of the YouTube videos where the guy pointed it out. I have all this knowledge from watching and studying and reading for the last month............ but no Phantom yet!!
     
  7. Greyfox51

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Scottish Highlands
    The manual helps, but in my opinion there is a lot that is ambiguous and also poorly explained. There is help out there, in the form of Youtube tutorials, but I haven't found one yet that quite comprehensively covers everything there is to know about the app.

    I knew about the scroll wheel that also doubles up as a button, allowing one to toggle through the different camera settings, but having had some free time to more thoroughly explore the app, I discovered something that hasn't been mentioned as far as I am aware , but might just prove very useful for those of you flying in areas of signal congestion.

    After opening the app, if you tap on 'HD' at the top of the screen, a second screen opens showing Image Transmission Channels and potential interference levels that may be restricting communications between the controller and the aircraft.



    The default is set on 'Auto' and the channel at 20 but it is possible to change that to 'Custom' and then using the information displayed choose a less congested channel, quite possibly resulting in better communications and a potentially much increased flying distance.

    Living where I do, there is very little signal congestion here so I personally don't really benefit from it, but for those of you flying in urban areas with lots of extraneous and unrelated signal interfering with your comms, well, it may be worth checking for a less congested channel.

    At the bottom of the same screen is a slider to increase or decrease Image transmission quality; a lower setting and smaller data exchange here might also improve image comms between the controller and the aircraft.

    For those of you that are interested, it is explained clearly here:



    Just fast forward to 10.30
     
    #7 Greyfox51, May 24, 2015
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  8. Angus Macsac

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    New owner of P3A ....i could not see this info in the manual. also really not a helpful manual when it comes to details on actual operation of the various functions of the camera. My right camera settings wheel only appears to adjust the exposure settings. When i depress the wheel it does not select a different camera setting but stays on Exposure.
     
  9. olof Ekbergh

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Mt Washington Valley
    Exposure needs to be set to manual, then you can adjust iso and shutter speed.

    Also with latest FW, push and hold and you can adjust gimbal horizon.
     
  10. fly_it

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Zhengzhou, Henan, China
    Very cool! I've read the manual too, and was even re-reading it last night and never saw that. Thanks for sharing!
     
  11. Dome

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Italy
    Ahaha .. I discovered it on day 1 thanks to my son, who clicks everything he founds ...
     
  12. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Kinda old news there. There are probably thousands of posts in conversations about channels, the channel hack, what its actually doing, and the legal ramifications of using it.
     
  13. Fourprops

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yes your right about legal issues. Get your ham and you'll be ok.
     
  14. Angus Macsac

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    AWESOME! thx! Have yet to upgrade to 1.4 FW am holding off for now have 1.1.9 LOL but it works!
     
  15. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Thats like buying new 'Vette and staying in 1st gear because some people get speeding tickets!
     
  16. klawtrax

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    8
    There's a manual? LOL