Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Replacement P2V Camera Pitch Servo

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Mods' started by MrFlats, Dec 1, 2014.

  1. MrFlats

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Colorado
    I've been reading posts on phantompilots but there is no answer about a replacement servo for the FC200 Camera on the P2V.

    Does anyone know of one. I read elsewhere on the the net a HiTec 5055 MG will work. It's about 15 bucks from Amainhobbies. Anyone try the 5055MG?
     
  2. zenoshrdlu

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Totnes, Devon
    The key thing is that the servo needs a 15 tooth spline to mate with the plastic insert in the camera casing. See this page about Futaba splines: https://www.servocity.com/html/futaba_s ... Hz2tSdvn-I

    The page implies the Futaba S3111, S3114 and S3154 would do. It looks like the Hitec 5055MG will work, but so will the Hitec HS-55 I think.

    You will have to cut the brackets off the servo so it will fit in the housing (DJI does that too).
     
  3. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    From pictures below: Is the server that goes in this holder for the P2V camera what you are looking for or something different?
     

    Attached Files:

    dirkclod likes this.
  4. MonsieurAnon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    When you say a 15 tooth spline, you mean something like this right?
     
  5. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    No answer from MrFlats since first question. Must not be around any more.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  6. MrFlats

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Colorado
    Intruder101 likes this.
  7. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Well if you had come back I could have sold you one. Would have saved you a lot of looking.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  8. MonsieurAnon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Nonetheless, we learned something today. I might have to buy one of those servos and try to get it working with my universal mount.
     
  9. PASA

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great videos!



    The camera of my Phantom 2 vision don´t move anymore. How can I test the servomotor?

    When the servo and the camera are disassembled, and when I turn on the remote and the PH2V, the servo doesn´t work.


    Thank you by advance
     
    MrFlats likes this.
  10. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    MrFlats,
    Found time to watch part 1 & 2 of your videos. That was a lot of work getting that servo to fit in your camera. Good thing the two items you did purchase did not cost a great amount of money. As for how much noise the servo makes, why care. There is no mic and with the motors running, you are never going to hear it. Nice you did get it to work and your new servo moves your camera faster, but as stated before, I could have saved you a few bucks and one heck of a lot of work.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  11. MonsieurAnon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I often discharge batterys in my home office. The servo noise annoys me enough that I disassemble the FC200 before doing so.
     
  12. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    :shock:
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  13. MrFlats

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Colorado

    Ok, what do you have and how much? Are you in the USA? Looking around wasn't much work. The point is users have another option to fix. What I would really like is a 2 or 3 axis gimbal for my camera. Can you help there?
     
  14. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Parts I had are gone.
    As for gimbal you should look into the RPG. They work great.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  15. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    Yes I used that as a replacement servo to the stock. If you need one I can hook ya up.
     
  16. CyberVet65

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cedar City, Utah
    I have the HiTec 5055mg servo. Virtually a perfect fit once the ears are removed. Servo tape and a little filing makes it perfect.
    But!
    The DJI connector and the servo wires have me totally at a stand still. I figure it would be better to destroy the servo connector than the DJI connector. So do you have a wire schematic for connecting the servo to the DJI? And since these are DC motors could you not just swap a wire to reverse movement?
    It would be so much easier if someone had a bad DJI servo so I could cut and solder the plug. Anyone? Will buy it just for the harness.
     
  17. seek e

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just replaced mine. Mine came with wiring that was not plug and play as discussed. After a lot of calibrating I finally got it working. How many wires do you need to hook up for it to be fully functional? I had to hook up 3. One pitch wire then the electrical. I extended the factory camera wire buy cutting and soldering it half way down the leg. Is this about what you are looking at. If so I promise these pictures will help. You need to get a gimbal calibration program. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1442734185.629859.jpg
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1442734212.276476.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1442734224.211208.jpg