Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Range

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Paul A Byers, Jul 29, 2016.

  1. Paul A Byers

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    23
    My P3 Pro only gets about 1,000 feet out of the box in my neighborhood. I was expecting range of approx. 1.2 miles out of the box. There Are 6,336 Feet in 1.2 miles. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Beginner mode off? Enable max distance off? Antennas oriented correctly?
     
  3. Paul A Byers

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    23
    I will check, thanks for the reply. I am looking at range extenders. ARGTEK, FPVLR any thoughts? You have a favorite? Not to solve this problem. Just want one anyway.
     
  4. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    I use windsurfers. Others use amplifiers to boost the RF power. This is illegal, but I seriously doubt the FCC is even interested (yet). I will not risk my FCC license, however, and avoid these.
     
  5. Paul A Byers

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    23
    This leads me to another question, I've had my P3 Pro about 3 months. I have not registered it yet, I've known I need to research the subject. Required? Was the FCC license test hard?
     
  6. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    If you want any serious range you need to maintain line-of-sight. Trees and buildings pretty much kill the signal.
     
  7. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    No test, only a $5 fee to register the drone itself.
     
    cfd701 likes this.
  8. cfd701

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes it is required !! It's only $5. Online registration. That's just to register the bird. When you say license and a test I think you are talking about a commercial license. You only need that if you are going to be using your bird to make money.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    Not to be too pedantic but you are registering yourself not any particular aircraft.

    ALL your aircraft must now be labeled with the FAA registration # be it fixed-wing, heli, multi-rotor, etc.

    There are also requirements to have the registration paperwork with you at all times while flying be it a paper copy or electronic on your mobile device or similar.
     
    cfd701 and Techcop50 like this.
  10. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Registering your drone is $5, which is good for all your drones. There is no test.
     
  11. Paul A Byers

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    23
    Where do I go to register it? Do I have to register every year?
     
  12. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
  13. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    go to faa website and no think it is every 3 years plus get dbs mod for distance way better than argtek