Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Questions about DJI Android App

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by AAC, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. AAC

    AAC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    My version is 1.0.52 which I suppose this is the latest one.
    But the map is not updated. I plan to take aerial video for an open area industrial packing plant with lots of high tower heavy lifting cranes. However, map of app shows that there is no man land, no building, no heavy equipment. Likely, the map hasn't been updated for two years. Without the buildings on the map, I may have problem to set the waypoints on ground station. Any suggestion ?

    My next question is before connecting to PV2+, flipping screen between camera page to map/ flying details page is smooth. However, when it is connected or flying in the air, I need to flip 3 or 4 times between screens. Is this app issue or my cell phone's problem ? I am on LG G2 Android system.
     
  2. harbourside

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the map uses Google Earth, so yes, this can be bang up to date or several years old depending on where you are in the world.
    If you plan on flying around hazards like the ones you list then surly common sense would be to fly line of sight at all times, setting waypoints is all well and good in an open environment, but not around buildings and the like.
    I have found that swiping down now switches to ground station quicker.
     
  3. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    The map comes from google so as long they don't update it will stay the same.
    What i would do is check with google maps on the net true a PC and see what they offer.
     
  4. AAC

    AAC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I checked it on my laptop, same result, no building shows up.
    I could only imagine the building territory from the map and set the waypoints. No luck, it just flew far beyond the building.
    Any tip to be more accurate ?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Questions DJI Android Forum Date
new to DJI, couple questions Standard/4k Discussion May 28, 2017
DJI Spark Q&A (Your Questions Answered) DJI Spark Discussion May 24, 2017
Odds & ends questions: P4, dji GO 4, Litchi, Glyph, iPad Phantom 4 Discussion Apr 20, 2017
New to DJI stuff, building F550, LOTSA questions. :) General Discussion Apr 12, 2017
Strange stick reaction / DJI Pro 4 questions Phantom 4 Discussion Apr 8, 2017