Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Problem with 1.8. FW update

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by LostInSky, Apr 16, 2016.

  1. LostInSky

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys, I tried to upade my P3, but when I put SD card into my PS3 there si no sound, just blinking. I was waiting for 3-4 minute and repeat the process 3 time and it is always the same. Does anybody know what should I do or where is the problem? I didn't fly with my P3 for about 5-6 months, and file that I put i .bin file put with VLC icon. What do you think? Thnak you!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,848
    Likes Received:
    5,551
    Location:
    US
    Do you have a Phantom 3 Standard? If so, you can only update the firmware from the DJI GO app. Make sure your mobile device is connected to the Internet, your Phantom, and remote controller. If you don't see the firmware update message at the top of DJI GO, then try reinstalling the latest version of DJI GO.
     
  3. LostInSky

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    No, I have Phantom 3 Professional
     
  4. kcmusa

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Virginia
    takes longer than 3-4 min, wait for the light to go red, then green is finished.
     
  5. LostInSky

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Without the sound? It doesn't go D-D-D-D. If I remeber first time when I updated sound was here after few second when I turned P3. Don't know is it possible that he was updateing him self without the sound.
     
  6. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,082
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Once you switch on AC with the latest bin file on SF card it should start beeping and led on gimbal will blink red green.

    Did you format your SF card before copying bin file on it? Formatting is not needed but advisable.

    If it's not beeping, do you see a txt file newly generated on your SF card. What does it say?
     
  7. Quadcopterpilot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
    Sound like the unzip did not work properly and you have a corrupt .bin file.
    VLC is a video program so if you are seeing that you don't have a good .bin file.
    Download the .zip again and unzip to your PC
    Delete everything from your SD card and then copy the .bin from PC to SD card.
    Try the install again.
     
  8. LostInSky

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Finally! I downloaded firmware again and everything went good. I guess that problem was in incorrect .zip file

    Result: Success.
    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.08.0080.bin
    Upgrading ...
    Result: Success.

    Thank you guys a lot!!!