polar pro filters

Reaction score
Looking to pick some up but confused witch one is the ideal multipurpose one to get

I don't think there is any particular one for multi purpose. Weight can be an issue. If you spend a bit more money and buy a decent set of varying filters to suite different lighting conditions

I guess what I am asking is what does the different numbers mean like ND-4 compared to a ND-8 and so on? I am looking at the model# P4-1203 from polar pro

I have three ND filters ranging from 4-8-CP from polar pro. The lower number I use for morning and evening use, the 8 and CP mid day, depending on how bright it is. I am a rank amateur at filming but they do stop a lot of the glare, water reflections and assist in bringing out the true colours of what I am filming at the time. The P4 1203 is the pro cinema pack of three. Bit expensive but they are matched to the P4 by way of weight and quality.

Reactions: antnyp85
I guess what I am asking is what does the different numbers mean like ND-4 compared to a ND-8 and so on? I am looking at the model# P4-1203 from polar pro
The numbers refer to the density of the lenses, the higher the number the darker the lens. An ND4 you would typically use a ND4 on bright cloudy days, an ND8 around midday on a partial sunny day, an ND 16 on really bright sunny days. There are higher rated lenses but all depends on what you want

Here's a good guide for choosing the correct ND filter:

Filter-Use-Chart.png

What about the polarized part is it worth the extra money for the polarized filters

Polarising is a fancy word to reduce the light reflecting from all areas you are looking at from clouds, water and objects allowing for enriched colour and clarity to be seen.
Its no different than a good pair of polarised sunglasses that you might wear. Think of your camera lens working in much the same way as your own eyes work