Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Playback on a PC

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by brianb87, Sep 9, 2015.

  1. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    What program can I use that will allow me to play back my video. My PC freezes up. Here are the specs, should be able to play back I'd think. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1441831699.442768.jpg
     
  2. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    It will probably struggle with 4k but 1080p should be fine
     
  3. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    How about 2.7k ? That was on QuickTime .. VLC will I have better luck?
     
  4. blinkpunk92

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    12
    Are you shooting in 4k? It takes a lot of ram to play that. Even on my 16g Mac it won't play. You will have to shoot in 1080p. If anyone knows of how to play it on a 8g ram please comment. I'm curious as well
     
  5. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    No I have similar specs and all it can handle is 1080p. Ideally you'd need a combination of an i7, 16gb ram and a serious graphics card. After that you'd want a 4k screen too to get the full quality too
     
  6. Greebo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    9
    4k plays fine on my work PCI with only 6gb ram and a i3 cpu. I'm using the built in video player with windows 10. Works fine
     
  7. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I might have to get on my brothers gaming desktop.. See how that works. Thanks Mal
     
    Mal_PV2_Ireland likes this.
  8. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I have an older MacBook Air from 2013 with 8GB ram and it works fine for me with 4K. I know apples and PC's and not a true comparison. I can even run Editing software like Premiere and Final Cut Pro X without issues using the MacBook Air. Not ideal for sure, but it works. Seems like yours should be ok. The Video card could limit you some. That plays heavy on playback capability.

    Also when you run the files, try coping them to the HD or even better a Solid State drive versus running them from the MicroSD if you aren't doing that already.

    Untitled-1.jpg
     
    #8 Gregg Smith, Sep 9, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2015
  9. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I have windows 7.. Maybe the issue?
     
  10. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    I can edit my 4k by using windows movie maker to preview it and then use power director 13 to crop, add transition's etc and then finally produce the clips. I'm gonna built a serious machine so I can do it all without hassle soon.
     
  11. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I am pulling it off a SD card.. As in solid state flash drive or copy them to the PC?
     
  12. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Pulling from SD card can still be slower if the reader isn't a direct connection. Like if you use a USB converter. A SD drive attached directly to your machine in lieu of a normal HD can make a tremendous difference. I upgraded an older machine a couple years back from a standard HD to a SSD drive and wow, a huge difference in speed overall. Adding RAM can also really help things. Especially in Windows.

    Windows is a memory hog and it doesn't do a very good job at managing it. So having more of it can also help. I've seen first hand my performance increase just by adding more RAM.

    When you open up application and the OS, it tries to load in RAM. If there's not enough there, it will save stuff to the HD in temp area which can slow things down dramatically. You have a good amount of RAM, but upgrading to say 16GB of RAM if your system is capable of it can help.

    Also the Video Card is a major help in this area. Upgrading to a faster card with more RAM on the video card can really help things out.

    I'd say that if you wanted to speed things up do the following:
    1. Copy the files from the MicroSD to a built-in HD or SSD if you have one.
    2. Upgrade to a SSD drive to help increase performance
    3. Add RAM
    4. Upgrade Video Card.

    The nice thing is that you can do these over time and not have to do all of them. You may find that a SSD will be the trick, or adding RAM will be enough. Find what's cheapest and try that first and then move onto the next item until you find what works best.
     
  13. StevenQX

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Italy
    Potplayer
     
  14. thunderchicken

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
     
  15. FatTwoTonTony

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Newfoundland
    Thats the M14XR1 board by alienware I suggest buying another ram stick. Chances are you have 2 4gb sticks in the system now so buy an 8 gb stick for like $40 and you will be good to go. I would check it out with the motherboard but I am pretty sure it will take the 8gb with the 2 4 gb's. If you are lucky enough to have an 8 gb there already you have a total of three ram slots so you can easily go 24 for rather cheap
     
  16. thunderchicken

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    I am using a Lenovo Thinkpad Carbon X2 with I5, 8 meg ram and a SSD and 4k plays just fine. I can also edit on my Sony Movie Studio Plat but it takes some time to render but also works well. In no more than 15 minutes I can render about a 10 minute movie in BlueRay but it gets a little warm.
     
  17. louforgiveno

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    251
    MPC media player or VLC. And update video drivers for the nvidia card
     
  18. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148

    I can run an 8 and a 4 with no issues?
     
  19. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    2 slots with 4gb each
     
  20. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    Do a shut down and restart if you havent done one in a while. Run Malware bytes and antivirus.
    Many programs can be memory hogs even when shut down. Look in task manager and see what is running.
    I use VLC or media player classic as well.
    And you really need to drag the data off onto your had disk first.