phantom fc40 flying out of box no upgrades

Reaction score
hello im new here, I bought the phantom fc40 from maplins and I didn't connect it to computer I just put everything togeather and done the gps dance and In no time I was flying high, im totally new to flying so im scared if I connect to laptop and update it I might do something wrong, my phantom is flying great I only fly in gps and only when green light is flashing I fly it, I just want to know if I do connect it to a computer what will I achieve from it. I have to say this is the best quadcopter I have ever owned I just bought it for fun and im enjoying it so much

If you download the DJI assistant software to your computer you can upgrade the Phantoms firmware . Also enable IOC ,do a google search on DJI assistant . There's home lock and course lock. Also fail safe mode. You can calibrate your controls .
Good stuff!

Good luck
Wayne

I even switched my transmitter off and the fc40 come backs to starting point I have not updated anything
thank you for your reply
:D :D :D :D to be honest im only using it for fun im not a professional yet so if I connect to computer I would not know what im doing :D
regards senna

senna786 said:
I even switched my transmitter off and the fc40 come backs to starting point I have not updated anything
thank you for your reply
:D :D :D :D to be honest im only using it for fun im not a professional yet so if I connect to computer I would not know what im doing :D
regards senna

The software assistant isn't as complex as you might think it is. Everything pretty much explains itself fairly decent, but unless you wanna set up your ioc or make sure your rth is set right, you actually could live without it. Some people also like setting their s1 switch to failsafe as the 3rd toggle position so they don't have to turn the tx off which gives them piece of mind, and later on down the road, you might even want to try out manual mode.

senna786 said:
thank you for your reply
regards senna