Phantom 4 pro +: Firmware error 800

Reaction score
I'm new to drones and just bought the Phantom 4 Pro Plus.

What I did do so far is create an account and log in. Then I connected my drone with my laptop using the provided cable and assistant 2 program. That went fine but when I tried updating my controller firmware afterward via SD card I got a code 800 error. I tried again and same error. Finally I reformatted the card and it worked.

My question is have those failed attempts caused any damage or should I be good to go?

Last edited:
Also I know you can calibrate lots of things but what is essential that I calibrate right now? I've done the compass, and the IMU only.

Last edited:

What I did do so far is create an account and log in. Then I connected my drone with my laptop using the provided cable and assistant 2 program. That went fine but when I tried updating my controller firmware afterward via SD card I got a code 800 error. I tried again and same error. Finally I reformatted the card and it worked.

My question is have those failed attempts caused any damage or should I be good to go?
Hi, when you formatted your card did you use PC or drone please. Having same problem.

Hi, when you formatted your card did you use PC or drone please. Having same problem.
Always use your drone for formatting your sd cards. The PC formatting is a little bit different.

Always use your drone for formatting your sd cards. The PC formatting is a little bit different.
Hi, thanks for the reply, that is advice I would normally give, I always format rather than delete files from my Camera cards.
This time the problem was card was formatted in drone, the files were deleted, card must only contain .bin file for updating the controller. Error as above at least three times :(
Formatted card in PC (fat32) loaded .bin file and update worked.