Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Phantom 3 Gimbal Disconnect

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Zlynnes, Jan 6, 2016.

  1. Zlynnes

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello!

    Today around 4pm EST i crashed my phantom 3 standard into a tree... Making my gimbal disconnect from my drone (only serious damage) Now I'm stuck with a problem that consists of three wires..

    My problem is like the one in this thread (my pictures are the exact same): Standard - need help getting my gimbal and camera connected again | DJI Phantom Forum Except i have both u.fl plugs (Think that's what they're called?) Two shiny things.

    No matter what I do I can't seem to put the Grey and black wires back into the connector, every time I try to put the plugs back in the gimbal, the wires fall out. Do i need to buy a new converter, shown in that thread? Or do i need to glue the wires in the converter?

    I'm terribly rushed right now, and an extreme noob at phantoms. Any help or questions about my problem is great! If needed I can post updated pictures of my problem..
     
    jrich56 likes this.
  2. fstoplabs

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    23
    You can probably just buy a replacement cable set: DJI Phantom 3 Standard Cable Set DJI-1278

    If it is the UFL cables, you need to re-crimp them or use pliers, put the wire into the connector and squeeze.
     
    Zlynnes likes this.
  3. TG3S

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    Post a picture of the connectors at the end the wires.. You might want to use a small screw driver to press the surrounding tabs in or out to get a better connection.. It should click in..
     
    Highlife57 likes this.
  4. Zlynnes

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here's a picture, I got the gold cables back on, now I need to figure out which cable goes where. Does it matter which one I put the black/grey one into??
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Burkey

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Exact same issue for me - does it matter where the black and grey go?
     
  6. TG3S

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    It does not matter, but it's better to install how it came from factory to eliminate possibility of tension on wires..
     
  7. TG3S

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    If I remember correctly, the gray wire plugs in next to the ribbon cable toward the front of the camera..
     
  8. Burkey

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you - I also found a post with a pic and that helped
     
  9. Zlynnes

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    You had the same problem? Now mine loses video transmission signal when 100 yards away :/ don't know what to do
     
  10. TG3S

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    Those wires that attach to the camera mount are for the 2.4 ghz antennas which are used for FPV signal.. Make sure the connections are secure and that the wires and connectors are not damaged..
     
    Zlynnes likes this.
  11. Zlynnes

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you know where i could buy new wires for repair? Looking all over for those black and grey wires. Thanks!!
     
  12. TG3S

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
  13. Zlynnes

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here the wires are... do they look frayed to you? The wires were pulled out of the "gold" connectors, and I tried putting them back in myself. That may of been my problem.

    Thanks for the link to different FPV wires. Can't wait to fly this thing again.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. SolidConnect

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Zlynnes, I have the same issue.. Did you end up replacing these two wires?? Thanks
     
  15. Zlynnes

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I bought a new pair a couple weeks ago, but haven't had the time yet to change the frayed wires out... Doesn't seem too hard to do.
     
  16. SolidConnect

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahhh, Do you have the link to where you purchased them?
     
  17. Zlynnes

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
  18. SolidConnect

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ughhh.. I found the same ones but I was hoping to find a way to repair the wires as opposed to removing the board for access to replace them.
     
  19. Zlynnes

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have no idea how you would do this, I haven't taken a part my drone yet either so I'm a little nervous about it too.
     
  20. SolidConnect

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have and its a *****. In order to gain access to the two video link antennas you will have to desolder the motherboard.