Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Phantom 3 advanced gimbal issues

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by phantom812, Oct 23, 2015.

?
  1. how to repair

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. or can it be repaired

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. phantom812

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    phantom 3 advanced gimbal stopped working, I replaced the ribbon cable and its still not working, anyone have idea what it could be?
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    did you get any kind of error message, like gimbal motor overload?
     
  3. richmunton

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I replaced my yaw arm and ribbon but now have this error message ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1445648374.242927.jpg
     
  4. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    never seen that one before-- maybe someone else will chime in with some info.
     
    richmunton likes this.
  5. phantom812

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    all it says is camera needs update, but on start up it doesn't even do the gimbal dance
     
  6. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Did you do all the firmware updates and app upgrades?
     
  7. richmunton

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have done everything possible , Imu cal, compass cal, updated bird controller and app,, formatted two cards and also backtracked the firmware on bird and control.. Back on latest firmware now and still no camera or gimble,,, gimble makes a noise and buzzing during calibration just does not move,,, if I could narrow it down a bit I could buy the parts I need having spent all my money to buy the p3p I don't have the funds to pay nearly half again to replace gimble/ camera
     
  8. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    The only other issue I could think of if it is making a noise, are the grub screws holding the motors to the shafts. Check those, there is one at the top at the gimbal base and one on the lower gimbal motor. If those aren't tight and on the flat part of the shaft, the gimbal wont operate.

    IF that doesn't work, and no one else gives you some ideas, I would only assume you would have to send it in.
     
    richmunton likes this.
  9. richmunton

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cheers Bob , have checked both already only problem I have is that DJI don't seem to repair individual parts on the gimble , they just quote you for whole new unit, and being as my yaw arm is bonded with aluminium apoxy I don't think they will do anything other than tell me to change the whole gimble
     
  10. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    There should be some used parts on Ebay or post a wanted add in the classifieds on this forum.
     
    richmunton likes this.
  11. phantom812

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    rich,bob
    thanks for you guys input, I have tried everything I can think of other than replacing motors. I actually have two gimbals that aren't working after ribbon and yaw arm replacement, i'm starting to think maybe the ribbon cables I bought are not any good. I wish there was a way to bench test each motor though because the rotation motor has me wondering.
     
  12. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Did you buy new ribbon cables?
     
  13. richmunton

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I bought new gimble/ camera ribbon,,, haven't changed the gray ones though as they look perfect,, gimble never even popped a damper so gray cables were never stretched ?
     
  14. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    If you aren't going to replace all of them, you should at least test the continuity on the ones that you are leaving on and also "unplug and re-plug them" That is an old computer repair tip that sometimes works wonders.
     
    richmunton likes this.
  15. richmunton

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Unplugged the short one at both ends a couple of times , they both have power outputs because the yaw and pitch motors both buzz and vibrate when I calibrate the gimble,, just no video feed or movement?
     
  16. Bob Denny

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    If you found it necessary to repair the yaw arm I'm guessing you crashed it. Maybe some other stuff got broken. I wouldn't worry about it being software.
     
  17. phantom812

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone had success replacing the yaw arm and ribbon cable? just wondering, I actually purchased another camera that wasn't working just to give it a shot however I haven't received any positive out come on either. now I'm about to bite the bullet and order a brand new camera. I ask this question because I hope nothing is broken inside the P3A itself. it does fly even with the broken camera/gimbal, it just doesn't show picture or video and says no signal. thanks for all input
     
  18. phantom812

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I did; however they were fairly cheap
     
  19. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    where are you located?
    i've done a fair share of gimbal repair for P2 and P3.. about 600 and counting in the past year ;)
     
  20. Bob Denny

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    I hope this doesn't violate the forum rules... I crashed my P3A by activating the Litchi follow me mode without taking the time to understand it. It flew into a tree behind me after warning me to make sure the area was clear ha ha. Anyway, I sent the camera/gimbal assembly to ATKDrones UAV Repair Service. My interaction with them was excellent. In addition, they replaced the yaw arm with a machined part which is slightly heavier but much stronger than the pot metal part that originally came with the assembly. I couldn't be happier. http://ATKDrones.com/