Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 with iosd mini and AVL58 problems

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Jaysbeekay, May 3, 2015.

  1. Jaysbeekay

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Hi,

    I have a phantom 2 with the following components installed:
    1. iosd mini
    2. AVL58 Tx and Rx (for FPV kit)
    3. H3-2D gimbal
    4. gopro 3+ (silver edition)

    Everything works fine until I connect up the monitor for FPV. I receive the iosd data on the monitor but no video signal.

    I have checked:
    1. Tx and Rx for green lights and on same channel
    2. Wiring connection

    Any hints or tips for something that I'm missing?
    Thanks
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Well you know that the TX/RX are working because you telemetry on the screen. Have you updated the GoPro with the latest firmware? If not do so.
    Are you using the plug n play FPV hub to connect the gimbal, iOSD and TX? If so there is a switch on that board that should be switched to video and make sure everything is plug in correctly.
     
  3. Reoscorpio

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lisle, IL
    Which device are you starting first? I find that sometimes if I power on the go pro before the phantom I will get telemetry and no video. Try changing it up or shitting down camera and turning it back on.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. Jaysbeekay

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Thanks, tried updating gopro firmware - no joy. Even checked to make sure both were in PAL

    Tried changing the order that I turn each one on, no joy.

    Any other suggestions? Does the gopro have to be recording for it to come through on the monitor?
     
  5. Casper2015

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, England
    No it doesn't need to be recording. Make sure all the connections are ok, especially the flimsy ribbon connection to the micro USB on the Gopro. Has this setup ever worked?
     
  6. Jaysbeekay

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    It doesnt have the micro USB connection, its connected via the back of the gopro
     
  7. Casper2015

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, England
    And has this worked before and suddenly stopped working, or has it never worked?
     
  8. Jaysbeekay

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    I'm lead to believe it has (I bought the unit second hand from a friend)
     
  9. Casper2015

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, England
    I would ask the friend to demonstrate it working, he may know something we don't without complete pictures of exactly how it is connected.
     
    Jaysbeekay likes this.
  10. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Was the GoPro yours or did it come with the P2? Do you know someone who as either a GoPro 2 or 3 that you can use for a test?

    Also i haven't seen an answer to my question as to how everything is connected together. A photo of those connections would be a great help in determining if it is wire correctly or not. I had the same equipment as you up until a month or so when changed the TX and wiring.
     
    #10 jason, May 6, 2015
    Last edited: May 6, 2015
  11. Jaysbeekay

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Pictures attached - no FPV Hub. Could the transmitter be fried? 2015-05-10 15.03.16.jpg 2015-05-10 15.03.16.jpg 2015-05-10 15.03.34.jpg 2015-05-10 15.03.47.jpg 2015-05-10 15.04.03.jpg
     
    Ezookiel likes this.
  12. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    If you have data the TX is fine.
    The gimbal will only pass video from the correct camera - and in the correct mode, so check you are set to Video, not Photo on the camera.

    Most likely failure would then be the ribbon cable that runs along the gimbal or the cable that comes out of the gimbal and is soldered in that heatshrink.

    You really need a £10 multimeter to check the continuity, as the break may not be visible.
     
  13. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Which monitor are you using? If you're using a Black Pearl you should be on band E and make sure the TX and monitors RX 1/2 are all on the same frequency.

    All the wiring appears be to connected correctly so that's out of the way. The GoPro and monitor should both be in PAL. Go into the cameras menu and in setup make sure it's in video mode (for now) and in PAL. Then turn on the camera put it in record, turn the RC and Monitor and power up the P2 and see if it will record for at least 5 minutes.
     
  14. Jaysbeekay

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Thanks all, ended up selling it back to my friend and buying a phantom 3 instead!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Ezookiel likes this.
  15. Ezookiel

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Now that's what I call a great solution!!
     
  16. Jaysbeekay

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Still waiting for it to arrive though!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk