Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Vision Camera Blank Black screen

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Help' started by psmlee, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. psmlee

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    I just had my P2V for my second day. I did the camera firmware upgrade.
    The camera was working fine thru my iPhone5 yesterday.
    However today is just blank with no image, no error message, I did remove the Len cap

    Can anyone help me please?
    Cheers
    Peter
     
  2. BobUnplugged

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    24
    Do you have your memory card in the camera?
     
  3. iResq

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Annapolis, Maryland
    Should work w/o memory card.
    ?
    Just to be clear, was it working then you updated and it stopped or was it working after update then stopped?
     
  4. psmlee

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    SD card was in

    Day 1
    I opened the box
    Hooked up everything
    Camera is working thru iPhone5
    Saw there was a camera firmware upgrade, done that~
    Camera working fine after update
    Have a few trail flights
    Turn off and sleep

    Day 2
    Everything works fine except can't see image on iPhone
    I can tilt the camera with my iPhone
    Have a few flight.
    Everything was perfect but no image
    I screenshot the iPhone as attached

    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  5. iResq

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Annapolis, Maryland
    That's happens with my droid from time to time. Did you try rebooting everything?

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
     
  6. psmlee

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Day 3
    Still black screen

    Time to time?
    How can I revive it?
     
  7. dastagg

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Southeast Texas
    Mine did the same after firmware update. Toasted my camera. First my camera would not connect and finally did and then went black. Never recovered. Sent everything back for a replacement and did not update firmware again. Maybe after they fix things with update.
     
  8. amrflyingdude

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try this:

    -Close the app (double click the home button, swipe up app to force close)
    -Hard reset Iphone (Hold home button + Lock button till it shuts down)
    -Reset the extender (with a pen press and hold the button right in between the USB port and on/off switch until it flashes)
    -Re bind (turn tx on, extender on, phantom on, camera on WIFI and open app. Go to settings, BIND then scan QR code on the right side of -the box your p2V came in

    This should work.
     
  9. psmlee

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that. but it did not work.

    I can tilt the camera via iphone, but still no images.

    I assume the wifi connection is up,, since i can control the camera movemnt.

    ...
    is there a factory reset which I can go back before the upgrade of camera firmware?
     
  10. iResq

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Annapolis, Maryland

    Nope. Time to contact your vendor.
     
  11. amrflyingdude

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah there is something wrong with your camera. If you just did what I posted earlier then you basically reset everything so there is obviously something wrong.
     
  12. iResq

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Annapolis, Maryland
    One other thing...are you using V1.0.32?
     
  13. comp98

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this same issue as well. Everything worked fine for the first 10 flights or so. No crashes or issues. Now, I just get the spinning wheel and black screen. If I take a pic or video it captures it, just no FPV live view. This is the reason I bought the Phantom 2 Vision+. I tried the re-binding steps noted above, to no avail. I also tried to join the wifi on iPad, and the app gives me the same result. Anyone get good feedback from DJI or know of a fix?

    Thx,
    Ryan
     
  14. RoyWalton

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    P2 Vision+ with Samsung S5, after return from DJI to install new camera, have black screen, called DJI tech and he said to bind to the MAC address on the WIFI extender (Totally WRONG), have tried several times to bind with Phantom Camera both the QR code and Manual rebind, I think somehow when DJI installed new cam, they failed in some way to connect everything, as I can control the camera from the app, but no image, using all new firmware 3.14, app 1.0.58, cam 1.3.0.g. Does anyone know if there may be a setting on the phone to correct?
     
  15. radar2312

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This prob doesnt help anyone but, just got my PV2 out after a while tucked away in the bedroom (the PV2, that is), updated the PV2, RC unit and Android App, did NOT update camera software, mainly because the 'read me' stated 'PV2+'. I now have no live view from the camera. Havent tried taking stills so cant comment on if it is working or not but def no live view!! Could it be the App?? now has the groundstation included?? hoped I could go back to original version of the app but cant see a way to do it.
     
  16. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,687
    Likes Received:
    5,713
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    This is not uncommon . Mine did it again today. It is a app issue or with mine any way. I have to do all you'll have spoke of and then
    I will just get it back. It seems to me to be a certain combination of what ya reboot first and have never figured out just what it is .
    My screen this evening the first time I fly was like in the screenshot above but I did have a picture from when I had shut it down last . The second battery I had the black screen with everything else . I just flew like that both times with it in LOS and when I got in I started messing with it and it was back to normal . I have never figured out if it's the way I shut it down or what but that's what mine does . Will be fine for a month and then this will happen and might just reboot and it come back on.
    I have had one for a year and have seen this from when I started. Just keep trying different combinations before ya give up .
    It makes me want to smash it sometimes :eek::eek:
     
  17. radar2312

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, have tried updating firmware on the camera, even though the readme says its for the P2V+, but all to no avail.
    The camera is working fine, taking pictures, but I cannot get any FPV on my Mobile, no matter what sequence of power up I use, wishing I hadn't updated the Mobile APP!!
     
  18. Hvydg

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine is doing the exact thing. It takes pictures and video. Just no fpv. Screen is just black with the spinning wheel. I have tried everything I can think of.
     
  19. Tyrone the drone

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    7
    Try unplugging the three connectors from the body to the gimbal mounting plate the 4 wire one on the side has a locking tab the other 2 don't and reset the connectors worked for me
     
  20. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,687
    Likes Received:
    5,713
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    My Vision doesn't have that many connecters ? You talking about the plus right ?